DFYI- Diabetic Ribbon Campaign

I decided to showcase Andrea’s Ribbon Campaign as my first DFYI, it promotes awareness for diabetes. People “know” about Diabetes but aren’t “Aware” of physical and mental issues people with diabetes face from day to day. Andrea is Pro-Active when it comes to her diabetes care. She is a firm believer in Diabetes education. She is spreading the word about Diabetes through her Diabetic Ribbon Campaign,  blog, and other projects. I caught up with Andrea  planning the 1st Annual Diabetes Sister’s Day of Action in Mission, KS, she was able to answer a few questions about her Diabetic Ribbon Campaign and about Diabetes.   

Cherise:  When were you Diagnosed with Diabetes?

Andrea: I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes on May 1, 1996. Funny you ask because I was misdiagnosed and almost sent home. The diagnosis you ask? Anorexia or bullemia I couldn’t believe. I had never heard of either one before my mom and the dr’s explained it and “it’s pretty common for kids my age”. Yeah right! I was 16 and the idiots didn’t even ask my family history until a student doc came in and when we said diabetes “TaDa!” There was the light bulb. My BG was over 600 and according to the geniuses I would’ve went home and fell into a diabetic coma. Just glad my mom was protesting and she later told me that once we left the docs office she would have taken me somewhere else for a second opnion becasue she knew I wasn’t bullemic or aneroxic. She was right, I wasn’t, I was diabetic, LOL! I am blessed.  I am controlling my diabetes with diet, exercise and I give myself 4-5 insulin injections a day.

Cherise: Anorexia, they were way off, not surprising! A lot of people have been misdiagnosed. What was the deciding factor on creating your own Diabetic Ribbon Campaign?

Andrea: I knew I wanted to be active and contribute to the Diabetic community, I just wanted to start somewhere and do something. Not real inspiring I know but that was my original thought. What can I do? A ribbon campaign sounded simple enough and as usual I jumped in head first. LOL!

Cherise:  We have something in common! I always start head first and pray for guidance as I go along.  When did you start the Ribbon Campaign and how may ribbons have you distributed? 

Andrea: I started the Diabetic Ribbon Campaign in July 2007. How many have I ribbons have I distributed? If I had to guess (which is what I’m doing, LOL!) I would say about 500 from July 2007 to present day.

Cherise: Where can I purchase the Diabetes awareness ribbons and what is the max number if ribbons that can be purchased?

 Andrea: The Ribbons are FREE! You can request them from my website ribbons@stickysweetdiabetic.org or by e-mailing andrea@stickysweetdiabetic.org. I haven’t set a limit on the qty.  I make the ribbons by hand and ask if you could give me 2 weeks notice on orders of 25 or more.

Cherise: You are a mother and very active in the diabetic community, how do you balance it all?

Andrea: Hmmm, good question. My friends and family don’t think I sleep. LOL! But seriously I have a google calendar (that has 5 calendars in it) and my palm that I keep everything in. They help tell me where I should be and when. Overall I pray everyday (usually twice once in the morning and once at night) and try to remember to breathe when I start to feel overwhelmed (which is just about everyday, LOL!).

Cherise: I promise, last question. Do you have any advice for people living with diabetes?

Andrea: First, Learn what works for you as a diabetic. What I mean is learn how your body reacts to insulin or pills, diet and exercise, stress, etc. Second, Find an endocrinologist that you love not like because you have to trust this person, and usually you trust those that you love. Third, Don’t beat yourself up for testing and not getting the reading you wanted. Only beat your self up if you don’t test at all. What I mean is you should use the readings as information that you can use to make better choices.

Cherise: Great advice! Thank you for contributing to our Community and for your time. 

Andrea: Thank you for having my ribbon campaign featured on DFYI.  Take Care.

 

 

If you have any questions or would like to place an order, please fill free to visit Andrea’s blog or website

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “DFYI- Diabetic Ribbon Campaign

  • devonte howard

    hey sis, i talked to my drum major, remember i told you that she is a diabetic, and we were talking today at lunch and she told me the whole story of her diabetic life, she said she didnt find out she was diabetic until she was nine. ok so here it goes. when she was around nine she kept getting really sick and couldnt keep any food down and couldnt keep any liquids down. one doctor said it was pneumonia, one said it was a lung problem, and one said something else. so by the time she got to the hospital, she was almost dead, she said that she was sooooo dehydrated and the doctors couldnt find any veins to give her any fluids. and she said that every since then she has been serious about her diabetes. its weird how that convo came about. after the first half of practice she looked a little pale so i asked her how her blood sugar was and she said it was good and she was just tired, lol. then we started talking about her insulin pump and i mentioned you and your omni pod, she said she has never heard of it. lol. but yeah, then we got into like an hour long diabetic discussion, it was interesting, lol. anyways, how have you been sister

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

