Carb Counting or Exchange???

I was diagnosed with diabetes at a military treatment facility;  let’s just say military facilities do things totally different than civilian Doctor’s, Nurse’s and Nutritionist! I honestly think sometimes they don’t try to help the patient. They just tell you what to do and that’s it.  lol, I can’t get mad because that’s what their trained to do.

I was introduced to the exchange method and OMG! not the best method for me. Who would want to learn that exchanges are divided into 6 categories??? Who wants to take the time to know what categories each food falls into??? I didn’t all I wanted to know the simplest way of managing my diet so I wouldn’t have to get my leg amputated or go blind.  The next day, I called my NP and I told her I needed to see a civilian diabetic educator because I didn’t care for the SGT nutritionist. 

CDE- I went to a diabetic meeting and that’s when I was introduced to carb counting; I think this is the perfect method for me. I mean how hard could it be to say I can only have 15 grams of carbs equals 1 carb choice, simple enough for me…:) I have been using this method my whole diabetic life and it works for me.  Every once in a while I think about trying something new, I get bored easily.  I thought about the glycemic index, way too difficult for me to figure out. I even dibbled into using the diabetic exchange (again) but I think I must be a little stuck on stupid to figure it out.  So, I’ve come to the conclusion to stick with carb counting and stop training to fix something that isn’t broke….

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “Carb Counting or Exchange???

  • Andrea

    I agree I think carb counting is awesome. It has totally worked for me and when my grandmother was switched from the pill to insulin it made the transition alot easier and less stressful.

Leave a Reply

