Educating

I started working a new job this past week.  I made it known that I am a Diabetic. The first response from people is “Really, Diabetic you don’t look like a Type 2.”  My response, ” I am not a Type 2 Diabetic nor am I a Type 1.  I have the slow onset of Type 1, which is Latent Autoimmune disease in Adults. ” Their response, ” I always thought there were only 2 types of diabetes.” My response, “The medical world right now only recognizes Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes. The medical world along with ADA classifies Type 1.5/LADA with Type 1 because it’s an autoimmune disease.” Their response, “Does diabetes run in your family?”. My Response, “Nope, I am the only person in my family who has diabetes.” Their response, “I thought diabetes was passed down from generation to generation.” My response, “Having Type 1.5/LADA doesn’t have to be passed down. I am not sure what triggered the gene; could have been sick or stressed. I would have developed diabetes no matter what I ate or how much I didn’t eat.” Their response, “Really! I didn’t know that. Why do you count carbs instead of sugar?” My response, “I have to count my carb intake because carbs develop into sugar. I have to count carbs because it tells me how much insulin I need to give myself before meals.” Their response, “I always thought diabetes was a sugar disease.” My response, “Diabetes isn’t a sugar disease and never has been really.” 

By the end of the convo/education on and about diabetes, I felt good! I like educating and teaching people about diabetes. Every chance I get I talk about Diabetes. I feel like I accomplished something!  Diabetes education is important.  If I can tell 1 person my story, I’ve done my job. Does it bother you when people ask you questions about Diabetes?

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Educating

Leave a Reply

