The case of DB (Diabetic Blues)

I went to the mall with Niya (2 year old)! We had a nice mother daughter day!
Niya asked for something to drink and I bought her a slush; my favorite drink pre diabetes. The lady at Ms. Fields (cookie place) over filled Niya’s Tinker Bell cup! I asked the lady for a few napkins to stop the slush from running down the cup. The lady said “Can’t you sip it down?” grrr! Instead of me saying “I’m a Diabetic” I sipped the slush down! As soon as I did that Diabetic Blues came! looking around the food court, pretzel time, cinnamon bun place and hot dog joints, just naming a few. I remember the days when I could go any where and eat what I wanted to without any cares in the world. You might say why do you go to those places? I don’t want to punish Niya because I can’t have it. I also want her to be able to experience sweet items once a week, if she ever became a Diabetic she could say she remembers when she had this and that!
The mall trip ended well. I made it home. Niya wanted fruit snacks. I gave her a bag and I asked her for 1 fruit snack, not 1 bag! She had the nerves to tell me “No,it has too much sugar!”.
I wanted to laugh so hard but I couldn’t! Diabetic Blues why did you have to visit me today?

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “The case of DB (Diabetic Blues)

  • Kristin

    Oh, I can understand those emotions that come up when someone says “Can’t you just sip it down”…
    Most people don’t have to count EVERYTHING that enters their mouth.
    I hope that you enjoyed the sip at least 🙂

    Niya’s comment is TOO cute! What deep understanding she has of Mommy’s life! My sister does the opposite of Niya– she tells me that EVERYTHING is sugar free cause she wants me to eat it with her. When she had a lemonade, she told me to take a sip and I told her I couldn’t. She immediately reponded “But it’s sugar free” (it wasn’t) and I just laughed.

  • Cherise

    People make me made sometimes but they don’t know.
    LOL! Your sister is funny! Niya is like that sometimes. I tell her polly pod can’t have any it’ll make it sick and she backs off a little bit. I did enjoy the sip but it didn’t taste the same. not use to the sugar anymore.

Leave a Reply

