I don’t hate Diabetes, I don’t have a reason too

I don’t hate Diabetes. I don’t have a reason too!  I am a blessed Diabetic!  I am able to type this blog with ten fingers and bad eye sight; corrected with contact lens.  I am Blessed, I have never been in the hospital for anything related to Diabetes.  I have never experienced a high that didn’t go back down or a low that didn’t go back up.  I don’t hate being a Diabetic, I know this will sound a little crazy I actually LOVE it.  I can not sit here and say it’s been easy, because it hasn’t. I get frustrated with Diabetes only because I don’t have the freedom to eat whatever I want, if you really think about it is it that bad? I get frustrated at myself when I don’t see a perfect number, is it Diabetes fault, nope it’s mine; I know better! 

I am happy I can share my journey with people by blogging and online communities. It’s good therapy to know your not alone.  I have been able to meet different people from all walks a life,  if Diabetes wouldn’t have been sweet enough to embrace me with it’s presence I wouldn’t be who I am today.  So what if I have to wear a Pod, carry a PDM, keep glucose tablets stocked, count carbs and try to maintain a health life style!  It’s apart of me! I LOVE me and I LOVE being a Diabetic! 

So when people ask if I hate being a diabetic I can’t honestly say I do. I still feel every movement from my legs, I can wiggle my toes and if one day I don’t feel them– I’ll worry about that when and if that time comes. 

I hope the good Lord continues to Bless me!  20 years from now I  want to be able to say  “I’ve never had a complication and never been hospitalized because of Diabetes”. If I have to test my bg’s 4-6 times a day, give myself ton’s of insulin and say good bye to Strawberry Cheese cake than so be it. I can do it and so can you! Like the good saying goes, “God helps those who helps themselves.” 

I know I am not the only person in the world who doesn’t hate being Diabetic and if I am so WHAT:)

Take Care and Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “I don’t hate Diabetes, I don’t have a reason too

  • bishop1073

    It is so funny that you post on this topic because only a few days ago, I posted on the exact same thing. Kind of feels a little like deja vu. I hit on a few different topics and have my own spin on it but all in all I love my Diabetes and know that I would not be as complete a person as I am today if I didn’t have it.

Leave a Reply

