Anyone thinking about Getting the Omipod…

I am apart of Tudiabetes.com (diabetic community) and there is an OmniPod group there. I am also a member of it. There was this forum started by Daniel he is 15 years old and was Diagnosed with Diabetes in January 2008. I asked him if I could share his forum on my here and he said I could.  

“Anyone thinking about getting the Omnipod?” By Daniel (Tudiabetes.com)

I am 15 and have been using the Omnipod for over a month and a have. I was diagnosed in the end of January this year. Shots with pens 4 times a day really weren’t anything to be proud of, especially hanging out with my friends and having to bring needles, alcohol swabs, strips, blood sampler, tow insulin pens, and meter. The lows were very unpredictable and I always had to have snacks at the same time every day.  I got the OmniPod and it was a miracle for me. I am very active almost everyday.  I have very little body fat on me, and am quite muscular. The OmniPod has freed me up from everything. Now I only have to have the PDM, sampler and strips. They can all fit in a pocket, and you don’t have to gross out some of your friends before tehy eat, or be like a freak show by giving yourself a shot. I no longer have to snack unless I want to. If you have a high, you don’t have to take a shot, you just press a few buttons. The insertion really doesn’t hurt and I never had a bad spot. I wakeboard, skimboard, surf, skateboard ridebikes and spend all day at the beach. I have had 2 pods fall off the whole time, bit it happened wakeboarding at 25 miles per hour with the pods fully exposed. When you do anything with your PDM it looks like you are testing or trying to call someone on a cell phone. I was on the fence about the Omnipod or the animas (for some reason) only. The tubing didn’t really matter to me, but that is probably because I have never experienced it. I have never used another pump and possibly never will. I can go in the water and not worry about anything. I think with a pump you have to disconnect it (which will only lead to highs) and put it somewhere, but if you are at a beach, that can be difficult. I have no regrets about getting it, and I am staying with it. I think Omnipod has a satisfaction guarantee for about a month or so? I would not go back to shots or try another pump. The OmniPod customer service has replaced pods that have failed, and answer questions that you need answered. If you are unsure, try the sample pod, you can get them from their website, myomnipod.com. This is my opnion and have never used anything other than MDI’s. If I could do it all over again I would.- Daniel

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

