My 7 “BAD” habits as a Diabetic

LOL! I don’t know why I decided to make this list, since I have nothing to hide I thought I would blog about My 7 “Bad” Habits as a Diabetic. I am not perfect and if anyone with diabetes say they are, you should play “knock, knock” on their head to make sure their brain is still there, lol. 

Here I go…

1.  Falling asleep before checking my bg’s!!! I have wake up at 5 am to make it to work by 7 am. I have to get Niya and myself ready before 6:30 am; I have to be out the door by 6:30.  My Husband has a new duty, lol WAKE ME UP BEFORE YOU GO TO BED DUTY! I am actually getting a little better at testing before I fall asleep. 

2.  Reese’s Peanut butter cups…OMG!!! just thinking about them makes me want to hop in the car and drive to the gas station…lol I guess if I walked I could “Walk it off”…haha

3.  Doritos (nacho cheese), and BBQ chips…I can not keep these 2 items in my house. I have to keep them out of site, out of my mind because I can eat them all day long. Not good for my girlish figure. 

4.  Changing LANCETS! When I was first DX I changed my lancet all the time, lol everytime I tested. The last 6 months I haven’t been good at doing it. I am going to work on this also.

5. Walking Barefoot! Here is another thing I use to do when I was first DX. I always walked around with shoes or socks on, scared I would get an infection. Plus, my ENDO said I should always have something on my feet. I stopped doing this about a year ago. If I have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I don’t want to pee my pants (we usually wait to the last minute to go pee). It’s either shoes, socks or pee my pants!!! What would you choose? 

6. Washing hands before testing– Ok! I know I am not the only person who doesn’t wash their hands all the time before testing their bg’s. I learned a lesson, now I make sure I have something with me to clean my hands. If you touch something sweet it makes your bg’s higher than what they are; not good for someone who is insulin dependent. 

7. Diabetic Preaching– I didn’t know if I mentioned this or not but I am Certified to Preach Diabetes to people…hahaha not! I do have a bad habit of trying to tell people who don’t take care of their Diabetes, how to do so! I am trying to work on it, if you don’t want to know the “Truth” don’t ask. I have toned down a lot ***patting myself on the back****

Here is my list, I came clean. I admit it’s not really at that bad! I know there are a few things I need to improve on.  I think tomorrow I am going to blog about MY 7 “Good” habits as a Diabetic.  

Be Blessed

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

38 responses to “My 7 “BAD” habits as a Diabetic

  • everydayman

    🙂 .. A lot can relate to that thing man.. But I guess you have to eliminate one bad habit at a time… eliminating all is both suicide.. and impossible…

    http://3critical.wordpress.com/

  • Miss Pam

    I’m guilty of four things you listed! LOL I must try and do better.

    • Marie

      Miss Pam: I, too, am guilty of some of those listed behaviors. But I have been trying to work on them (Seriously). I want to stop the insulin and the meds. I walk 2.5 miles everyday and I have stopped white breads and working on pastas. I still have some habits as far as my eating properly, BUT, 2010 promises to be a better year for me. Merry Christmas and Happy, Blessed New Year.

  • Andrea

    Interesting list and can I say YES Im guilty of four items off the list with one to add. Taking my medicine and not finishing my meal. I get distracted very easy and the next thing you know the food is cold and in the trash it goes. Bad I know but I’m working on it.

    Andrea

  • Lisa Ann

    Walking barefoot is my worst habit I dont’t like wearing socks and shoes. I like my feet to breath and be free espically at night, can’t sleep with something on my feet. Nachos and spicey cheese dip is my other bad habit, but I found a spicey mix you mix wiht sour cream (low fat of course) and I eat it with pretzels(one serving not the whole bag like with the nachos and cheese) and that takes care of my spicey snack cravings.lol

  • Robert J

    My pieve is Fritos and M&Ms. I always change my lancets. But i also walk with bare feet on the carpet all day. And you are also right about the preaching. But they arn’t all bad habits I don’t think!

  • Diane

    I’m guilty of four of them. I don’t wear shoes and socks like I should.I don’t always wash my hands before I test. I love M&M’s and Frito’s.

  • Vivian

    I am guilty of not checking my bg before bed, and not eating enough food when I take my pills. Sometimes I wait too long to eat after taking my medication and end up with my bg being too low like 39. So for I have not pasted out because I can feel myself getting weak and immediately get a soda like a coke to drink and it goes away.

  • Glenda

    I am so glad to know that I am not the only one that goes to sleep without checking mine. I also do not change my lancets everytime. I usually walk aroung the house in socks but if I am having a hot flash I have to come out of my socks.

  • Lilybelle 31

    Gosh, I didn’t think it was so important to change my lancets every time I check my blood sugar. I’ve gone as many times as 8 without changing. Why is it so necessary?

  • Cherise

    The reason you should change the lancet’s every time is because it’s not sanitary, dull needle makes it harder to draw blood and using a needle that you’ve already used could cause a faulty reading.

  • Shelley

    Well, I am just going to say this… I have used the same lancet only because I couldn’t afford to buy new ones, and no I don’t wash my hands every time I use my little deal either. My scary thing is I was a sugar Queen, and this is totally true, I would sit with a whole strawberry and cream cake and a fork an eat till I got dizzy..lol..same thing with chocolate, some pies and sweet tea. Resse’s forget about it.. two king size @ a setting and one in the hole for later..duh, gotta have a plan right? I am guilty of the nacho thing as well, fritos sour cream and cheddar or onion chips.. no dip needed just the bag and me alone communing:(. I like to keep something on my feet though thong slippers or socks.
    Now I am doing the blue packs of sugar sub. and I walk by my old friends at the supermarket and we glance at one-another and I push on brushing away the tears as I go; aaaaaaaaaah its better to have loved and lost than to ???????? what am I saying I am doing a lot better now and even lost some weight.. imagine that>>>:)

  • Dawn

    This is my worst time of year for controlling my sugar. I am a baker and for Christmas, I always make a ton of goodies to give away. As a baker, I always have to sample my wares before giving them away. You know, to make sure they taste great and is fresh.
    I keep trying to make my favorite goodies using only really healthy foods that cut down on carbs and sugar. I had some really good luck mixing fiber with flour, using sugar free chocolate chips, Splenda sugar and brown sugar and made some awesome chocolate chip cookies. I haven’t figured out how to make sugar free fudge yet. Anyone have any ideas?

  • Healthier “D”life & Healthier “Me” « DiabeticizMe

    […] in diabetes, happy, info, life, omnipod, type 1.5/LADA I wrote a blog a few months back called My 7 “Bad” Habit’s as a Diabetic. I am slowly making adjustments, working on them.  Heck, the hardest thing is saying no to […]

  • catchick

    I have to admit to still having my coca-cola habit. I just HAVE to have one every now and then. I wonder if I’m just hurting myself or actually by giving in, if I keep my mood more steady so I can deal with things better. I think anything in moderation is ok.

    I don’t want to jeopardize my health but I have to have SOMETHINGS I ENJOY that are at hand when I’m down.

  • Ann

    I have to stay away from sugar. I am like a drug addic. Once I try a little sugar, that’s it!!
    I go on a BINGE….I didn’t know you change lancets either. I went for several months. I couldn’t figure out how to change the head. LOL, I got it now. I never got to go to an Encro.
    I had to seach and figure everything out. I have such tender fingers. Is there a secret how to
    keep pooking them withoout hurting??

  • Mimi

    LOL! This is like reading from my journal. The only one I am better at is #5; mostly because I tend to feel cold all the time and always wear socks or warm slippers. What about those used test strips all over the house? This was a great list 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  • chichi

    I have to admit I have done everything you have done but not anymore. I have always loved my sweets but yet can only drink diet sodas……….LOL now I don’t even buy candy unless it’s sugar free and to tell you the truth it really taste good. I have gain so much weight this past year it’s not even funny, I have to have something on my feet but that’s just me and as for lancets I am the same way I use the same one for about a week but for now on not anymore.

  • KAREN

    HELLO , WOW ITS AMAZING HOW MUCH WE WOMEN ARE ALIKE . SUGAR, MUNCHING OUT AND ENJOYING IT ALL. I HAVE TO ADMIT I LOVE CHOCOLATE WAY TO MUCH. THATS MY DOWN FALL. IF I DO HAVE TO HAVE SOME I EAT A SMALL BITE. I USE TO EAT CANDY BARS, WHOLE BAG OF CHIPS AND POPCORN OWE I LOVES THAT POPCORN. HAHA.. KNOW I TRY TO EAT A SNACK AT NIGHT ONCE A WEEK AND NOT EAT AFTER I EAT DINNER. I FEEL MUCH BETTER AT NIGHT IF I DO THAT. IVE BEEN HAVING STOMACH PAIN AFTER I EAT SO IVE TRYED TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS MAKING IT HURT. DONT KNOW YET. IVE HAD TO NOT TAKE AS MUCH METFORMIN. AS FOR THE SOCK ISSUE I AM NOT A SOCK PERSON . YIKES I HATE THEM THEY MAKE ME HOT , HOT , HOT. IVE BEEN THAT WAY SINCE I WAS BORN . I TRY AND HAVE SHOES ON AT LEAST . I AM NOT WORKING ON THE SOCK THING YET. WILL TRY MORE. I DONT CHECK AT NIGHT I AM NOT INSULIN DEPENDENT DOES THAT MATTER. WHY SHOULD I CHECK AT NIGHT BEFORE I GO TO BED. I HEARD YOU SHOULD CHECK BEFORE YOU DRIVE HAVE YOU HEARD THAT. WELL AS THE LANCET THING GOES I HAVENT CHANGE MINE EITHER. I WILL START. IT EXPENCIVE HAVING DIABETES YIKES. DONT WANT TO BE ON INSULIN. I CARE FOR MY MOM WHO IS AND SHE DOESNT TAKE CARE OF HERS. MAKE ME NUTS. ILL TRY AND BE MORE ON TOP OF THINGS. OK . SOCKS ,LANCETS AND FOOD SNACKS.. I FIND I CAN SNACK ON FROZEN BLUE BERRYS THEY ARE SO GOOD AND REFRESHING IN THIS HEAT. TAKE CARE AND BLESSING TO YOU ALL, KAREN.

    • sweetdonna

      Hi Karen…Frozen blueberries are my favorite snack, too. Have you tried frozen peach slices??? Yum! Just slice fresh peaches,place on cookie sheet,freeze,put into zip lock bags and pop back into the freezer. Better than ice cream which is my personal downfall.
      I don’t change lancets every time either…but if I have used it before,I do wipe it off with an alcohol pad…is that ok?

    • don

      After being on Metforman, glipizide and insilin for 5 years with no effect, I decided to cure myself. I found Dr. Julius Whitaker on the internet and he saved my life. His key formula for diabetics is Glucose Essentials. He also recommends other nutrients. I started with Glucose Essentials, ALA – Alpha Lipoic Acid and Benfotiamine. The results were amazing. In 6 weeks my eyesite impeoved, my neurophy in my feet went down 75%, I quit falling down and my blood glucose level went from 224 to 169. After 5 years with no results from my doctors. Hooray for Dr. Whitakrt!!!

    • Terri d

      What a wonderful exchange of our humanness (if that is a word). I am guilty of all seven. Yep, all seven. I wear sox all the time. My feet get very cold or it seems, and due to my neuropathy I cannot stand a sheet to touch my feet. If I wear sox I don’t feel it. Thanks for the topic.

  • Jipwhip

    I am guilty of having done the same bad things. I am just glad that I am not the only one who has done these things and won’t be the last one either. It is hard to admit when you have made wrong choices, but then you learn from those choices and don’t try to make them again. And then just keep trying not to make those choices and soon you won’t be making those choices. Thanks for the laugh and knowing that I am not alone out here.

  • Shinsha

    1. ice cream, peanut butter cups, & chocolate covered pretzels – can’t say more feeling the craving just typing this out.

    2. don’t ware shoes at home.

    3. tend to grab & snack on what my (adult) kids leave in the house. I think if I can get them to move out on their own that temptation would stop.

    4. I stay on the computer too much during my free time. So no real or regular exercise.

    5. I forget to eat if I am on the computer, unless said snacks are easily at reach and I unknowingly munch out on them while on computer.

    6. No real schedule, so no real meal planning.

    7. Repeat number 1. answers.

  • sooz

    Hilarious!

    I don’t change lancets for months. Never had a problem and I test 6-8 times a day.

    I never wear shoes or socks, either inside or outside the house (in town, yes) and I’ve never yet had a problem with my feet.

    I love good dark chocolate, so I’ll have some now and then (and bolus for it).

    Biggest weakness is good bread (bought or homemade), and I do lower carb most of the time, so figure out how that goes together… I can’t.

    Who said we had to be perfect?

    If you have a good A1C, then enjoy your life and don’t sweat the small stuff. Pop a Lindor ball into your mouth now and then, or whatever your food weakness is. You’ll feel a whole lot better. Long as you have insulin to cover it, or it doesn’t make your BGL spike like crazy, then live!

    I’m so NOT into driving myself crazy about every little thing. Maybe I should be, but I’m just not made like that… and my A1C is pretty good!

  • Lucy K

    I dont even recall when the last time I changed my lancets.. probaly 3 months already… I also am insulin, 3 times a day and I reuse the needle for several days cause I have no insurance currently and cant afford them.. I also dont use the alcohol wipes, I wash good, so I thought I didnt need them..
    I also am a Carbaholic, haha, so this is the worst illness for me…you name it, I love it, especially Pizza…
    I love to walk around bare foot, I do it all the time..
    I wear 4 inch Jessica Simpson stilettos, I know there bad for my feet but I LOVE them..
    I also like to drink beer. I do order the light one though, and the low carb one…
    I dont get enough excercise either, I am bad about that…I will walk, but thats about it.
    I havent been to a doctor in 14 months because I was layed off and have no job with benefits. I can buy the insulin over the counter, and needles.. and no, I havent had my A1C checked in over a year cause of this…

  • nancy

    I UNDERSTAND ALL ABOUT THOSE LITTLE TREATS THAT I KEEP AROUND THE HOUSE AND I AM SOOOO GUILTY. MY A1COS 11 AND I HAVE TO INJECT 4 TIMES A DAY NOW BECASUE I DID ALL THE WRONG THINGS. I AM GOING TO GET BETTER AT CHOOSEING THE RIGHT FOODS AND TRY NEW THNGS INSTED OF THE SAME OLE SAME OLE THANKS FOR BEING HONEST.

  • carolrobin

    I don’t change my lancets for months at a time. Didn’t know it was that important. As for snacks, I don’t make a big deal over a few extra as long as I cover them with extra insulin and don’t do it all the time. I’ve been a type one diabetic since my early 30’s and my last a1c was 5.8 so it must be ok. I have a 28 yr. old son who was diagnosed when he was 6 yrs. old so I’ve dealt with it a long time!

  • Keith G.

    Try using the kneedle drum by Accu-Check. Very painless and faster as well.

  • kaytycwit

    thanks for a nice article. It is nice to see that not everyone is perfect as my doc and the dietician have me believing. I thought I was the only “bad” patient. It gives me hope so I can change things too.

  • cathy green

    Girl I really thought I was the only one in this big world that did those kind of things thanks for writing that now I know I am not alone. I enjoyed reading your article. Sometimes it is good to know there are other people that go through the same things you do.

  • dyanna

    Thank you Cherise…I can relate to all on your list. Thanks for sharing…it helps.

  • Shirley

    Thanks to you for that information. I thought i was the only one with those bad habits. lol I am sure going to try to work on them. I also have a bad habit of getting real hungry at night. anyone have a solution to that problem?

  • Mike

    Amen. I do just about everything you do wrong as well. Testing before I go to bed must be my biggest no no. Especially because I snack so much at night and need to get myself squared away before I fall asleep. Looking to the things you do right. That’s just as important since we are all human.

  • Blair

    Hence the use of any sort of mod chip, and protects your investment all at the same time.
    And having this data accessible to you anytime you need to keep the
    online backup services for daily use, you’ll never again need to fret over a scratched or seriously damaged game disk. Or that Tebow, despite leading the Broncos to the AFC West title last season, when the land lines or cell phones were working. If you want to back up every day.

Leave a Reply

