How do you live with Diabetes?

I have been asked “How do you live with Diabetes?” followed by “I couldn’t do it” I know I am not the only person who has been asked this question over and over again. To be honest with you the question doesn’t bother me as much as the response does. How do you know if you could or couldn’t live with diabetes, unless you have it.

I know some of us living with Diabetes don’t really struggle and I know the majority of diabetic’s do struggle but like I always say “If I have to give up a piece of bread to keep my leg! I would do it in a heartbeat.”

I wanted to answer the question that I am asked a lot “How do you live with Diabetes?”

Diabetes lives with me, I don’t live with it! there is a gene that I have and I guess one day after 23 years of life it decided to walkin, it joined me.

This is how Diabetes lives with Me.

High blood sugar over 5 years life span is almost guranteed diabetic complications or even DKA! I don’t want to cause myself anymore pain or suffering. Diabetes has taught me how to play mind games and that’s how Diabetes lives with me.

Cinnamon roll= high blood sugar~not worth it
Sweet tea= high blood sugar~not worth it
Fried chicken=high blood sugar~not worth it
Birthday cake=high blood sugar~not worth it.

It works for me:)

Be Blessed

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “How do you live with Diabetes?

  • Andrea

    My thoughts exactly. I always tell people i don’t have diabetes, diabetes has me because if i had it I would let it go. LOL!

    Andrea

  • stephanie

    awesome. you rock. i love diabetes too. it has its days ehrn i cant take it, but then i wake another day…and survive. it has made me aware of life and lives of others. for those lessons and values, i am truly blessed. i hear ya loud and clear. makes total sense. im glad i found your blog!! youre awesome!!!!! andrea from tudiabetes site rec’d your blog. good rec!! please check out mine: http://www.ifgodwz1ovus.blogspot.com

    god bless you.

Leave a Reply

