The 1st time my Husband forgot…

Yesterday, I attended a going away ceremony for my Husband’s unit. We arrived at 5:15 pm, 15 minutes early and the ceremony didn’t start until 6:00. Scott said he we wouldn’t be long but for anyone who is close to someone who is or who has been in the Military knows that could mean anything. I think this one time I wanted it to be true…NOT TAKE LONG.!!! Guess what, it took long! My Husband is very involved in his unit and I should have known better, but this time I thought it would be different because he wanted to take Niya and I to dinner.  I was even more excited because a friend of his was coming a long and was brining his wife and children; I have been wanting to meet her for 2 years.  

6:00- Still standing around watching Niya terrorize the place…lol she was screaming and making herself dizzy. Usually, I would try to calm her down but this time I let her go! going away ceremonies are all the same; you’ve been to them once, you’ve been to them all.  Luckily, I ate a small snack before I left home. 

6:30-Watching my Husband talk to a few of his Soldiers and a few officer’s.  I’m bored and Niya still acting crazy. 

7:00-Still waiting, ready to go eat! I hate using Diabetes as an excuse but come on! how much longer am I going to have to wait to eat.  I don’t know anyone and the only reason why I am here is because I want to spend time with my Husband.  

7:15-Finally, I meet Deborah! she is very nice.  I thought we would be getting ready to leave! Not!!!!

7:30- I told my Husband my blood sugar was getting low and I needed to eat. He said,”Baby, I am so sorry I forgot.” That was the first time I have ever heard that come from my Husbands mouth in the 4 years I was diagnosed with diabetes.  I wasn’t mad at him.  After all it wasn’t my anniversary or my birthday:) Even if I wanted to be I couldn’t, I couldn’t get mad at him. He isn’t a diabetic and he is entitled to forget once, every 4 years. I am sure he isn’t the only spouse who forgot about the “D”. 

8:30- I enjoyed sitting at the table eating at MiMi’s Cafe!!! I enjoyed the QT with my family.  It was a little cute to hear him say I’m sorry I forgot!  was it worth dropping a little low and eating some glucose tablets? Yes, it was!

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

