Wires or Wireless???

The other day I was talking to a new friend (TuDiabetes.com) and she mentioned her new pump, the Ping.  She was very excited about it. I asked how big it was, she said about the size of the small pager.  I thought that was pretty cool. She said it is nice and it doesn’t bulge out like the Pod…lol I told her a few months ago, if someone would have asked me if I would use a traditional pump, with all the wires, I would have said, “NO”.  I have to say I would take the “NO” back. Not because I hate the omnipod; I love it. Not because I have had a few Pods stop working; I have been able to have a replacement Pod sent to me and plus, I have never ended up in the hospital because of it.  My thought process now is…”If it will help me maintain my diabetes (strings or no strings) then why not?”   

If I can walk around proud of my Pod, I could do the same with a traditional pump. I went to the Endo yesterday and I saw the Ping. It was pretty neat.  If the Omnipod wasn’t around I would give it a try. It’s better than doing MDI’s.  I have realized,  diabetes is a give and take disease if you give a little the reward is much better in the end.  

Don’t let your Physician, CDE or Doctor tell you what pump you should go with; I am glad mines didn’t. Do your own research, ask question, and make sure pumping is the right insulin treatment for you.  IF you decide on Wires or Wireless you’ve made the best choice for you.

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

