I’ve gained 7lbs in 5 months…

Tuesday I went to the Endo and I had a lovely visit with Wesley.  I was a little jealous because he was able to hook his Onmipod pathfinder software up and it actually worked.  The software isn’t that bad; if you can get to work.  I was able to see my trends which weren’t too bad but I noticed after my evening meals,  I have been pretty high (140-180).  I understand why, it’s a little hard for me to measure home cooked meals.  Wesley changed my inulin to carb ratio to 1:12 after 4pm to help me out a lot.  I also decided to go back to my old dinner ways, i.e. 20-30 carbs.  I can control dinner a lot better by eating that way. Honestly I need to invest in getting a scale.  I asked Wesley how did I gain weight. His reply was “Your body back to normal and you aren’t peeing everything out. You have to watch what you eat and exercise, just like a normal person.  Cherise 7lbs isn’t that bad.” I agreed but I let him know I wanted to shed about 5 of those pounds, my clothes are getting to be a little tight…lol I guess I can’t blame the insulin anymore…

Wesley also talked to me about getting a CGM. I let him know I was interested but I wanted to wait until the system was available w/ the Omnipod.  I let him know it wouldn’t make sense to get it now; even though I would love to have one. I let him know it probably won’t be easy to get Tricare to approve it but we can cross that bridge in 2009; hopefully when the CGM is available for the OmniPod.   

He did my lab slip! he wants to check my Vitamin D level; a person with dark skin can be lacking it.  He also did a CBC, thyroid check and A1C test.  I warned him that my A1C might have went up since June (6.3).  I will not be upset with myself if it did because it’s honestly may fault:) I hate admitting when I did something wrong…lol

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

