Airport issue with PDM

Today was a busy, busy day!!! I woke up at 4:45 am. I had to shower, clean house, wake niya and give her a bath. Did I mention make breakfast, comb hair, load the car and drive to LAX to catch my flight to San Francisco. I don’t know what was worse…

1) pushing a 50 pound bag, stroller w/ a 27 pound little girl across the parking lot
2) forgetting to pack my backup needles for my lantus; I’ll explain this later.
3) taking my daughter to the bathroom 3 times, each time she announced loudly “Mom, I have to go poop!”

4) getting hit on by a man who is old enough to be my grandfather…LOL
He said,” I need to see your ID for a credit card purchase”. I showed him my drivers lisence. He said,” You don’t take bad DMV photo’s, but you look so much better in person BTW… Nice bling on your finger.”…LOL

Here is the big one….

I went through airport security with my pod, insulin supplies and everything else without a problem. The security team did ask me what the pods were or anything. I was glad about that. I took Niya to Fat Donald’s a.k.a. Mac Donald’s. I order chicken nuggets and so did she. I made it to the terminal and checked my BG’s…107. I was about to bolus and my PDM started alarming…I called Omnipod and the rep asked me to reset the PDM. I asked her with what…she said an ink pen…I tried the ink pen, it didn’t work. The rep said “do you have a earring!”. I did! I reset the PDM but guess what!!!! All of my information was wiped completely out! My settings gone, bg’s gone! The rep said “Do you have your settings.”
Of course I didn’t.
I called Welsey (Endo) and he e-mailed them too me!! Thank you lord! I never thought something like that would happen but it did! From now on I will know my settings and carry them on my iPhone! The worst part is I forgot my needles so I couldn’t give myself a shot! Luckly, my PDM started working but I had to change my POD…

I arrived at SFO and my Husband followed…

Tomorrow I get to meet Manny (tudiabetes.com)…

I will update my blog with how things went…

Be Blessed
Blog-iphone

Excuse any spelling or grammer errors

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “Airport issue with PDM

Leave a Reply

