DFYI-Have you received your Flu Shot?

I have been very busy lately and somehow in the middle of traveling, working, being a wife and a mother. I forgot to get my flu shot.  How could I forget to do something that is important to my health? easy, it was done and I will make sure I schedule an appointment with my PCP, ASAP.  

People who should get the flu shot:

1. People at high risk for complications from the flu, including:

  • Children aged 6 months until their 5th birthday,
  • Pregnant women,
  • People 50 years of age and older,
  • People of any age with certain chronic medical conditions, and
  • People who live in nursing homes and other long term care facilities.

2. People who live with or care for those at high risk for complications from flu, including:

  • Household contacts of persons at high risk for complications from the flu (see above)
  • Household contacts and out of home caregivers of children less than 6 months of age (these children are too young to be vaccinated)
  • Health care workers.

3. Anyone who wants to decrease their risk of influenza.

I have never had the flu! I don’t want to ever get it because my immune system is already screwed up. I can’t imagine being sick, off work, testing and puking for days—I know you don’t either.

If you have a chance to check this article out, written at Healthcentral.com by Dr. Frank Varon called “Time for a Flu Shot?”  It list the symptoms of the flu, how it is spread, it also talks about who shouldn’t get the flu shot and much more. I learned a lot, hope you do too.

Let’s have a healthy, safe and flu free season…

Be Blessed

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “DFYI-Have you received your Flu Shot?

  • stickysweetmomma

    I usually catch slack from my doctor because I don’t get the flu shot but my grandmother got it one year and had to be hospitalized for pneumonia that same year. Conincidence maybe or maybe not. I do get the sinus infections but I’ve been blessed not to get the flu.

    Andrea B.

Leave a Reply

