Mood Swings and Crazy BG’s

This weekend I experienced a lot of HIGH numbers not sure why. I thought it was my POD, I changed it and my bg’s are still out of control. I haven’t felt this out of sink, in a very long time! On top of my HIGH bg’s I wasn’t a nice person to be around.  I am sure I am not the only person who has experience DMS. I know some people get them when they are extremely low but I am the total opposite. DMS (Diabetic Mood Swings) is worse than my PMS swings. When I get high over 250, DMS kicks in. I was mean to my Husband yesterday; sorry if your reading this.

 It’s strange how bg’s have an affect on everything, that’s why I try hard to control diabetes.  I do all I can but my body does it’s on thing.  I don’t know! it is driving me crazy, no change in diet or anything. I woke up this morning, fasting bg of 242; way too high. Going through this episode, seems like deja vu.   

I have Type 1.5/LADA,  I took oral med’s for 3.5 years. All of a sudden..  No matter what I ate the oral med’s didn’t help me at all.  I felt like I lost control. Until I was put on insulin! I thought I was back in control again and now for some reason I’m not….GO FIGURE!  For the past 2 weeks my fasting numbers have been off the chart.  I ruled out Aunt Dottie and the OMNIPOD.  NOW, WHAT???? could it be insulin resistance to the 10th POWER? WHO knows??? 

I am going to make a call to Welsey (Endo), better yet I will E-mail him tonight. IF you have any suggestions, fill free to leave a comment.

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “Mood Swings and Crazy BG’s

  • stickysweetmomma

    Ohhhhhh! That’s what those are called? Diabetes Mood Swings, I’ll have to remember that, LOL! I usually just say “you know i got the sugar! or you know i’m diabetical (madear-tyler perry)” Just kiddingbut it does help me sometimes to make fun of my diabetes by taking it back to the old school.

    Anyway, of course we all know about those and it’s ok. I fight with my blood sugars all the time and it wins some rounds and I win others. Basically there are times when I can do everything “right” and it still does what it wants to do. It’s very much like parenting because you know like I know sometimes there is only so much you can do and no matter what “it” is they still do what they want. Or at least that’s the case with my 2 boys. :0)

    Wishing you luck and many blessings!

    Andrea B.

  • Lili

    Some people have been reporting getting bad pods lately (up to 50%). You might want to rule that out.

    Oh, did you change your insulin vial?

Leave a Reply

