What I learned from World Diabetes Day…

I went to work on Friday and all of my Co-workers where dressed in Blue.  I served them breakfast, just to say thank you.  We talked about diabetes and the first thing that came out of their mouths was, “I didn’t know there was a such thing as World Diabetes Day.” I let them know it’s been a round for sometime and I’ll remind them again next year.  Radona said, ” It’s sad diabetes will be the number 1 disease in within the next few years.”  I almost teared up. It’s sad but true! WE need to spread awareness and teach education. We sat and shared stories and went back to work. 

My Scott (husband) walked in the house on Friday (WDD) and he had blue flowers in his hand! very romantic. He said he knew how much WDD meant to me and it wanted to acknowledge it by giving me blue flowers; he’s such a romantic.  I received a picture from Alli (type 1) who wore blue for WDD, My BSF (best sister friend) Eboni wore WDD. My Mother had a luncheon at Samuel U. Rodgers for WDD and she had the chance to meet Andrea. My Mom said the luncheon was nice, blue table clothes on the table and the speakers was excellent.  Thank you to everyone who wore Blue on WDD.

I’ve had over 30 people read my blog post about Wearing Blue for WDD and over 30 people sign the petition for Google to change their Doodle; hopefully they’ll change it next year.  So please keep signing the petition. 

What I learned from World Diabetes Day is the importance of spreading the Word about Diabetes! We are still a clueless nation and I pray to God 10 years from now it’ll be different.  Let’s make everyday Diabetic awareness and education day. Continue to read  and write blogs, continue to join Diabetic Communities and DON’T BE AFRAID TO RAISE YOUR VOICE. 

Here are a few pic’s from my WDD, some of the pic’s were taken by camera phones. 

Be Blessed

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “What I learned from World Diabetes Day…

  • stickysweetmomma

    I just wrote about the WDD (2 days late, LOL!) on my blog. It was my first event and I look forward to many, many more. I agree that we are a clueless nation and I like that you said everyday needs to be diabetes awareness and education day. Great idea!

    P.S. The event was awesome!

    Andrea B.

  • Kristin

    Sounds like an awesome WDD! Way to go on raising so much awareness! And I think your husband must be one of the sweetest men in the world 🙂

    We were feeling tired and lazy and even though we planned to go out and check out the blue statue, I told my husband that we didn’t need to bother. He insisted that we go out to take pictures of the BLUE statue in Budapest. He knew that I really did want to go. It meant a lot to me that he wanted to mark the occasion with me 🙂

  • Alli

    this blog is awesome! thanks for using me and letting me kno so i cud be a part of it. so quyn told me u were goin to be in a tv show. cud u tell me wen it is guna be out! thanx! Alli

Leave a Reply

