Thanksgiving and Diabetes

I cooked a full Thanksgiving meal all by myself. I am very proud!! I wasn’t going to cook at all because a Turkey is way to big for 3 people. I can only eat Turkey so much…lol turkey sandwich, turkey hash, turkey tacos…lol You get my drift? I cooked dressing, mashed potatoes, greens, green beans, yams, rolls and a chicken. The meal I cooked tasted GREAT! 

This year I decided to enjoy my Thanksgiving meal, after all Thanksgiving w/o carbs is not Thanksgiving.  I bolused for 80 grams of carbs which gave me about 7.50 units of insulin and I extended half of it for about 3 hours.   I was anxious to see what my bg reading would be and 3 hours after I ate all of the things listed above my bg was 141!!! OMG! I couldn’t believe it.  I screamed and my Husband couldn’t believe it either.  I was happy and from that point on I realized I can let go and enjoy Thanksgiving…lol if I bolus correctly.  

I hope you all had a great Turkey Day,  I know I did!

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Thanksgiving and Diabetes

  • Jeff

    Sounds delicious! And congrats on the blood sugar control! I can’t imagine cooking all that myself. I’m excellent at eating it, though. Aaron’s blood sugar was not too bad all day.

  • Andrea

    Now I’m hungry! I’m glad it turned out awesome. Isn’t it so great when you can eat what you want, bolus, check your Bg and your numbers are great?! Good for you!

  • Devynn

    wow that sounds good! did you roast your chicken or bake it? and don’t EVER worry about doing a “traditional” meal. my first thanksgiving with my husband, i made a cajun lamb roast, and that christmas i roasted a duck. why? b/c i could! i was the cook, so whatever i put out, you had to eat, so NYAH! :p and there are so many ways to have a good thanksgiving these days AND still have it be within your dietary confiments/healthy. do what’s good for you. what are you gonna do for christmas?

Leave a Reply

