Occlusion

7:45 am I woke up to a alarming pod.I roled over, grabbed the PDM, the PDM joined the Pod! *alarming*
I went to handled my business,called Insulet with PDM in hand reading Occlusion…what the heck? I have never put my Pod in the area (no black mark present). I have only been Podding since May of this year, before that I was injecting insulin (started in January). What could have caused and occlusion? Who knows.

Me: Hello!
Insulet: Hello! How can I help you?
Me: I woke up this morning to an alarming POD and PDM.
Insulet: What did the PDM say?
Me: It says I have an occulsion. I don’t understand why! I have never placed my Pod in the same area and I rotate sight changes.
Insulet: Is your site bleeding? Is the cannula kinked?
Me: hold on let me take the Pod off. No, signs of bleeding or site problems. Cannula is fine.
Insulet: that’s strange.
Me: tell me about it! This has never happened before.
Insulet: (famous line) we’ll send you out another POD. Do you have enough supplies?
Me: yes
Insulet: Is it ok if we send out your replacement pod with your next order?
Me: sure.
Insulet: I’ll document the ca just incase you start to run low on your supplies.
Me: thank you!
Insulet: Have a great weekend.
Me: you too! Bye

I think the only thing I don’t like is not getting a straight answer. I appreciate the replacement Pod but can you at least tell me why the Pod is faulty? So I’ll know next time….grr!

Anyway I changed my Pod and my fasting bg’s133 grrrr!

Did I mention I had just changed my Pod the day before this happened! What a waste of 100 units of insulin and a POD…Bummer

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “Occlusion

  • Kristin

    How frustrating! Hope that it was just a fluke!!!

  • Kellyp

    I have had that exact thing happen multiple times. It’s definitely annoying. After having that happen shortly after putting a new pod on, and how erked I was that I had just filled 200 units into the pod for nothing…I drew the insulin back out of the pod. Have you tried that? All of it came right back out and I was able to use it in the next pod. I’m not sure if they reccommend doing that, but it makes me insane to think of wasting all of that insulin! And actually, if I have a good amount of insulin left in the pod when my 3 days are up (like 50 units) I’ve been drawing that back out and using it too. Anyway, I sympathize with your occlusion and could the continual beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep be anymore abrasive? It makes me feel like I have a ticking time bomb attached to my body

Leave a Reply

