My Year End Review….

This morning I was taking a shower and I thought about diabetes.  I can’t believe diabetes has been living with me for over 4.5 years.  There were a lot of things that changed and happened in my life.  I want to share my 2008 experience with diabetes to my readers.  

  January 2008- I was placed on insulin my anti bodies were low and Wes (Endo-Prac) decided it was time for me to transition to insulin.  The honeymoon phase for Type 1.5/LADA came to an end.   Highest A1C since 2004…7.1! 

  I was placed on 20 units of insulin at night only, it didn’t help. Wes added insulin before meals.  Wes and I decided to persue an insulin pump.  I filed paperwork for the Omnipod system. 

In March, Tricare denied the Omnipod system because I my records stated I had Type 2 diabetes (oral medication) because insurance companies don’t recognize Type 1.5/LADA!  I was upset.  I decided to appeal.  

In May 2008, I received a letter from Tricare stating the denial was overturned.  I started podding May 14.  I was excited and a little nervous. I started a blog. DiabeticizME on blogspot.  I needed an outlet !   I wanted to find a all the information I could about the Omnipod, in the process I found a social network for diabetic’s called TuDiabetes.com.

TuDiabetes was heaven sent! I learned about the Dawn P.! I also learned a lot of  tricks and developed a lot of friendships.  I still am learning a lot about diabetes from the TuDiabetes community, it’s one thing to read about it from books and scholars but to read other peoples experience’s is 10 times better in my eye’s.   Shortly after joining TuDiabetes I went for lab and my A1C was 6.3, getting lower again.

July of 2008 I was hired by healthcentral.com to answer questions about diabetes!  (thanks to a discussion posted by Manny) I love it! I learn about Diabetes through helping other people.  Pretty cool…:) it also made me realize the need for diabetic education and awareness!!! I hope and pray it changes in the future.  The internet, social networking, diabetic bloggers and support groups will be the key to spread the word and help educate  those who can’t afford help and those who don’t know where to look for it.

I changed my blog from Diabeticizme.blogspot to WORDPRESS! I love it! way better than blogspot in my opininon.  I enjoy the ability to blog on the go with their Iphone app. I am at 3,914 visits…I met Andrea and loved her ribbin campaign.  I am excited because she will be creating ribbins next for for World Diabetes Day.  I can’t wait to meet her in person.

In October I had the honor to participate in Hallmark Hero’s and I met the brains of Tudiabetes.com and DHF! Manny and Andreina.  OMG! hands down the coolest couple ever.  Great experience and they are like family.   A few weeks later I was asked to be an Administrator for Tudiabetes.com! it was an honor…how could I resist.  I joined Manny, Andreina, Kristin, Melissa and Jeff as an adminstrator on TuDiabetes.  I love it and it’s been fun…interesting experience.  I have learned so much about Tudiabetes.com.  lol I am diffently learning about the Ning network.

Today is January 1,2009!!! I can’t believe it, it’s almost time for my 10 year high school reunion.  haha

My diabetes…..Switching from oral medication to insulin isn’t easy.  I had better control of my diabetes when I was taking pills.  I enjoyed myself way too much this year and let me tell you this has been the worse year of my diabetic life!  I don’t have any regret’s but I learned a lesson.  don’t be confused…I Don’t hate Diabetes! lol I know this is strange but I actually love it!!

I am disappointed on how I handled my diabetic care. I plan to take baby steps to acheive and maintain the conrol I once had prior to insulin. No more laxing diabetic days for me, in my mind 365 days is enough. I know I’ve been told in the past to loosen up but I can’t! I loosened up and look what happend…lol  In order to maintain and see 5.6 again I have to go back to the tight diabetic I was this time last year.   I have gained about 15 pounds since I started the pump.  I relaxed and let go a little too much! My new motto is “Freedom, comes at a price” and I don’t want to risk weight gain, complications or my overall health to enjoy the price of “Freedom”.

Happy New Year to you all…..

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “My Year End Review….

Leave a Reply

