What is something you wish everyone knew about diabetes?

I was reading the January issue of Diabetes Forecast Magazine. The question of the month is “What is something you wish everyone knew about diabetes?”.  Since, I wasn’t able to respond…I would share my thoughts with you.

5 things I wish people knew about diabetes:

1.  I wish everyone knew, You don’t have to be overweight to have Type 2 diabetes.  There are plenty of skinny Type 2 people in the world. 

2.  I wish everyone knew, Type 1 isn’t just a juvie disease.  Adults can have an auto immune disease.

3. I wish everyone knew, Diabetes is a pain to live with (at times) but you can live with it and live a long life.

4. I wish everyone knew,  Carbohydrates causes your blood glucose levels to rise.

5.  I wish everyone knew, diabetes isn’t a “sugar disease”.  Wikipedia states

Diabetes mellitus, often referred to simply as diabetes (Ancient Greek: διαβαίνειν “to pass through”), is a syndrome of disordered metabolism, usually due to a combination of hereditary and environmental causes, resulting in abnormally high blood sugar levels (hyperglycemia).[2] Blood glucose levels are controlled by a complex interaction of multiple chemicals and hormones in the body, including the hormone insulin made in the beta cells of the pancreas. Diabetes mellitus refers to the group of diseases that lead to high blood glucose levels due to defects in either insulin secretion or insulin action. [3] 

Do you have anything you wish people knew about Diabetes?

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

