Don’t fail me now, Please don’t

WARNING !!!   THIS BLOG IS REALLY LONG

I went to Arizona this weekend to attend my BSF (best sister friends) baby shower.   On Sunday we decided to go to lunch since spent most of the morning putting Avery’s (soon to be god son) room together. So we went restaurant hunting at Gilbert’s new shopping area; nothing was appeasing to me. Finally, Eboni (BSF) mention LoLo’s in Phoenix.  LoLo’s is a SOUL FOOD restaurant that has a lot of none diabetic friendly items.  I figured what the heck–I’m going to cheat today.  

pdm_box1

We were seated. I pulled my PDM (omnipod) out.  I went through the food menu to see what I wanted to eat.  I chose the Fried Catfish platter.  I had the option of 2 sides, I went with Greens and Candy Yams. I pulled my PDM out to find out what the carb content would be for the items I chose since, the carb content wasn’t listed.  Candy Yam (Sweet Potatoes) 50 carbs, Greens about 9 grams per serving.  I pulled out my PDM, tested my BG’s and it read 81! I was very happy about that.  I went to bolus and the PDM started alarming..PEEP, PEEP.  WTF, call customer service and remove POD. Ok, I don’t feel like dealing with this right now….grrr! I had my insulin pen for a backup.  Just as I was injecting, the manager of the resturant came to our table. She looked down and saw me injecting…just to make her feel comfortable–  I said “I hope your food is good enough for me to cheat.” She started laughing.

I injected 4 units of insulin.  I enjoyed all of my food.  I did decide not to eat all of my Candy Yams; I would have been passed out somewhere.  The manager came back and asked how the food was I let her know it was worth it!!

I jumped back in the car and tried calling Insulet (OmniPod), but my Iphone kept dropping the calls. I finally reached for Meechaw’s Blackberry and I made a connection with the OmniPod rep. 

I let her know I was upset because I was out of town and my PDM stopped bolusing.  She had me try to re-set the pod about 6 times, take the batteries out 4 times and the PDM still kept alarming.  I finally said, I am not doing this again. We’ve tried resetting the PDM, taking the batteries out and the PDM still keeps alarming.  I am frustrated and upset because the product failed me when I was away from home. She said ok. I will send you another PDM overnight.  I said fine! She said I will not get the PDM until Tuesday. I said FINE!  I told her I was upset and I would be blogging about it.  She sounded a little confused but she said ok. 

I things you use everyday…fails you at the oddest times.  The PDM failed…I tried to reason with it but it didn’t work.  My iphone…grr don’t get me started on it.  It dropped every single call I made until I left the city of Gilbert and Pheonix….GRR! shoot…I forgot to call APPLE today.

Gotta go! I can feel my blood pressure rising just blogging about it!

Be Blessed-Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

