Diabetes on my mind

It doesn’t matter where I am or what I’m doing I can always spark a convo about diabetes. It’s cool to see people talk about diabetes. How diabetes affects them and their family. I’ve heard alot of great success stories. I’ve read alot of horror stories but recently I was able to hear Jane’s story from her sister. I have thought about Jane everday since last Saturday. I couldn’t shake her or get her off my mind. I know things happen for a reason… I decided to share Jane’s (fake name) story with you.

Jane is in her early 40’s. Not overweight, has Type 2 diabetes and it’s completely uncontrolled. She is on insulin. She just started watching whatching she eats a few months ago. Jane has severe diabetic neuropathy. It’s so severe that one day she went to get a pedicure done she didn’t realize her shoe fell off until she looked down at the ground. She cries every night because she is in so much pain from the neuropathy. Janes blood sugar readings hit over 500 any given day. Due to high blood sugar readings, she has been in and out of the hospital. Her body has a fruity odor and doesn’t have a clue about her diabetes. Jane’s doctor’s have pretty much given up on her. She is depressed about life and calls her sister telling her she wished God would take her life.

I wanted to cry but I couldn’t. I listened, responded and prayed! I prayed for Jane, her family and every single person who is living with Diabetes. I pray for our strength to continue to fight, educate and communicate our healthcare needs to the World.

Diabetes isn’t Cancer but it can take your life away in an instant if you let it. I know there are millions who didn’t have a chance to fight. There are millions who didn’t have the technology we have today but it has to get better. Let’s not let the World forget we have a pump, insulin and oral medication to keep us going—it’s a short term fix.
If we settle for the short term fix we will never reach the long term fix.

Diabetes is what it is but it will become what we make it.

Help “Us” by signing the petition at http://www.healtheFDA.com.

Be Blessed
Cherise
iPhone Blog

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Diabetes on my mind

Leave a Reply

