What’s that on your arm?

I decided to place my Pod on my left arm. I usually don’t put it there but I needed to give the other sites a break!

Wednesday, I wore a elbow length shirt, you couldn’t see the Pod…not an issue.

Thursday- I decided to wear a short sleeve shirt and OMGosh…eyes started turning and mouths started yapping. Their reaction was too funny. I was in the breakroom–eating. My coworker asked “What is that on your arm?” I looked at the Pod. I said “Oh, it’s my pump” she said “it’s a what?” I said “It’s my insulin pump.” she said “I see, I might end up on something like that I I don’t do better.”
I didn’t respond. I nodded. I can’t and won’t understand why people think insulin is bad or an insulin pump as the devil.

Towards the end of the day…I was at the copy machine and someone came up to me and said “What’s that thing?”
I explained…

The funniest question was “Why did you put it on your arm?” WTF, “Why did you wear that outfit?”

The next day-

My friends and I went to the taco shop for lunch. The lady behind the counter was too busy looking at my Pod, instead of taking my order. My friend said “Cherise, she might think your a robot or something.” It was funny! Ask me, I’ll tell you what’s on my arm. Didn’t your parents teach you it’s not polite to stare???

If they would’ve asked.. would’ve explained it to them in detail–ain’t no shame with me, the “D” or my Polly Pod…

Be Blessed
Cherise
iPhone Blog

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

Leave a Reply

