What concerns you more your A1C or daily numbers?

I was curious to what other people living with diabetes thought about their A1C’s.  I had to search high and low.  I had to search hundreds of miles away to find someone to answer my question. SIKE! I logged on to Twitter and asked my fellow tweeter buddies/d-bloggers what concerned them more, A1C or Daily numbers?

Their Response’s:

@stickysweetmom-My daily numbers cause it gives me more information on when I’m high or low & what time of day so I can make adjustments

@jlabean-a1c is more important to me.

@ dsaintsights-the daily ones tie into the A1c. If I can control the daily ones my A1c should just be a confirmation of good control

@JDRFQUEEN– gonna go with the daily ones..because one can have horrific control and still have a great a1c(and kind of vice versa)

@bishop1073-…actually, neither. My trends are what interest / concern me the most. A!c is an average, daily numbers are a snapshot…..trends tell you more of what is going on

@leeannthill-It makes me bonkers that ppl get so wrapped up in A1c. I’ve been trying to disengage from that. Like Chris said, trends are in

What concerns you more? Think about it…lol I had too!

 I went to the Endo in January.  I was a little disappointed, my A1C was 6.8, up 5 points from October. Wes didn’t seem to concerned about it…grrr! He said, “Cherise, you are stable, that’s more important right now.”  I’m not going to say I didn’t understand what he was saying–  I pretty much took it, heard what I wanted to hear and went on about my business. 

Today, I was driving  and for some odd reason what Wes said re-entered my thoughts.    I thought about it…I agree with him (I can’t believe I just typed that). I can finally say I am not going to stress out over my A1C. If I stay in tight control (daily). Everything will be alright.   Gosh, that took a lot of weight off of my shoulders. 

I am starting to really understand diabetes.  The A1C is just a piece of the puzzle, not the complete picture. 

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “What concerns you more your A1C or daily numbers?

  • myleftfoot

    My daily numbers because I know exactly what my control is then. Let’s face it if the a1c comes back as “good” – it means nothing! In three months a “good” control could mean several hypos, then several cream donuts allowed to balance that out, with several “highs”. That’s only fooling the doctor, and killing myself. I test 6 times a day to keep myself honest. A1c’s are a scam.

  • Scott K. Johnson

    I didn’t tweet back because I was too busy (dang shoot!).

    I tell myself that I’m more concerned with the daily numbers and trending, which is where I think I should be mostly concerned. But I seem to put a lot of subconscious importance in that A1C test too. Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

