Alternate site testing

I have been a diabetic since 2004.  I have always tested using my fingers.  The other day I thought I about using the alternate site testing feature on my meter,lol.  The thought left as fast as it came to my mind.  The thought of me taking a needle to my feet or forearm doesn’t sound appealing to me at all. I would rather give myself a shot in the stomach rather than prick my forearm or feet.   What other part of your body do you use to test your blood glucose level’s?  I need some help on this one…finger’s are getting a little worn out.

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Alternate site testing

  • jana

    I’ve tried the heel(sp?) of my hand but I couldn’t get any blood out. I just try to alternate my fingers as much as possible. I use the middle, ring, and pinky of both hands, so I just switch it up. They still get tired, though. And, I don’t think I have any real finger prints on my ring fingers, just a lot of scars.

    Btw. I have been using the SugarStats site for a few days now, and I really like it!! Thanks for talking about it on your blog!
    jana

  • Jolie

    I use all 10 of my fingers, both sides. I alternate back and forth on both hands. I attempted to use the alternate site thingy on my meter and ended up with a track of 5 holes on the underside of my arm – no blood…just little holes (you would think I would give up after the 2nd try, but no…not me). My husband called me a drug user for the rest of the day…I didn’t laugh 🙂

  • Scott K. Johnson

    I haven’t messed with alternate site testing too much (I’m too old school?). But, I would definitely stay away from your feet – don’t need any extra opportunities for trouble with our piggies!

Leave a Reply

