Diabetic Confession: I know I’m not the only one

Darn, where did I put my test strips? I searched high, low, in closet’s in drawers…nothing.  Holy crap, it’s 6:20 am, I need to leave the house.  I decided to keep searching for my strips; nothing.  Oh, well! I guess I am going to bolus at lunch without testing my blood glucose levels.  Yes, I said it…”BOLUS WITHOUT CHECKING MY BG’S” . I am not perfect.  I know I am not the only person who bolused without testing. I couldn’t risk being late to work. Should I a) risk low bg or b) being late to work? um, Job’s are few and few between….I’ll with “A”; I’ll risk it!

Lunch time came…lol I had to hide from my friend’s B.K.A. “Diabetic Police” I didn’t want to here..”Che-Che, how could you forget your strips?” I sat at my desk,”tested” my bg’s. I bolused for 35 carbs, I was good. 

4:00 headed home

As soon as I walked in the door, I went on the hunt…I found my test strips in the box with my replacement pods.  I tested my bg’s, the meter read 126! Yeppie, this is the 2nd time this has happened too me.  I was lucky both times but next time I might not be…

Be Blessed

Cherise

I am a terrible editor, it’s 11:45 pm! I am going to bed! ..!?

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Diabetic Confession: I know I’m not the only one

  • Karen

    Hmmm, well, I haven’t done that . . . yet. But it’s because I’m a bit OCD. I have all of my strips put away in the same place, just minutes after Mr. Fed-Ex brings them. And 2 spare vials of strips in my purse. Okay, I’m over-prepared!! Glad your bolus worked out fine!!

  • Catherine Thompson

    well see this is why we carry purses the size of gym bags right ? lol !! so we stuff alot of crap including the extra test strips and other crap that no one else of the normal world has to carry right ? Oh well glad you found them and all worked out okay . Have a great day all .

Leave a Reply

