Today is a Great Day

On April 1, 2005 I found out I was 5 weeks prego with my daughter Niya.  lol Try calling your family to tell them you are pregnant, no one believed me. 

Fast Forward…

 Today,  April 1, 2009, My husband will be promoted to Master Sergeant (E-8) with 15 years in the United States Army.   I am very happy!  I wish I could be there to pin his rank on!  Unfortunately, I can’t be because of his current location but I am with him in spirit and heart. 

I know I don’t talk about life out of Diabetes much but I have to share with you all a bit of information.  My Husband is in the United States Army. Gosh, I love saying that.  It’s powerful to see my husband go from daddy, husband civilian to a soldier.  I am tearing up while I am writing this post.   I remember seeing a discussion at TuDiabetes, What would you rather have than Diabetes.  I can honestly say….being a diabetic isn’t hard to me, it’s a way of life! it’s  a routine.  Now, if you ask me about being a Army wife that’s a different story.  It isn’t easy.  The fear of the unknown can sometimes beat me up but I am a praying Army wife and I pray everyday for my Husband’s safe return. Diabetes is a piece a cake in my opinion when it’s up against my husband’s life.

 IF you are reading this Scott.  I love you, I am proud of you, your my hero and you deserve it! Congrat’s MSG Shockley! You ROCK!

Can’t wait for you to come home so we can celebrate. 

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

5 responses to “Today is a Great Day

  • Andrea B.

    Tell Scott I said Congratulations and a big Congratulations to you too Mrs Master Sergeant Shockley! Although we have never met and have only known each other for a little while I feel like I can say I’m proud of you. I’ve never been married but my grandfather served in the United States Army so my grandmother was a Army wife. She explained to me a long time ago that it takes a special kind of women to be an Army wife. She told me a Army wife has to be able to drive and ride. She has to drive while her husband is away and know how to get in the passenger seat when he gets home. It’s no easy task and it’s not for everyone. She often said that only the strong will survive and you Mrs Shockley are a perfect example of a strong women. If you and Niya ever need anything let me know and if I have it then it’s yours.

    I wish you and your family many blessings, hugs and prayers!

    Andrea B.

  • Cherise

    Andrea-

    Girl, I am going to kill you for making me CRY! OMG! We have to meet! lol, you’ve met my Mom before you’ve met me…lol Your Grandmother is right:) it’s hard! someone has to do it, right:) If I know Scott he is prob going to read the post. He tries to chime in everyonce in a while. I still can’t believe my Hubby is MSG and I’m his wife! One more rank to go for an enlisted soldier..woot!

  • JaimieH

    Congratulations Scott! Thank you so much for dedicating your life to protect & serve our country!

    Such a blessing to know you Cherise, and precious Niya too… and I can’t wait to meet Scott in person!

    I’m just going to ditto what Andrea said…that was an awesome reply!

    Keeping you all in my prayers every night!
    Hugs and blessings!

  • landileigh

    Congratulations Scott! We are all so proud of you! Know that we are taking care of Cherise, while you are taking care of us!

    Hugs and Prayers to you!

  • Scott K. Johnson

    A big congratulations to you and Scott! I do hope that we can all hang out and visit someday, it would be a great time.

    I am keeping Scott in my prayers for a safe return, and I’m keeping you in my prayers for the strength to hold it all together while he is off serving for us.

Leave a Reply

