Diabetes and Children

 I went to AZ last weekend to visit my Best Sister Friend and Avery (new god son).  I watched Eboni w/ Avery, I realized I am OK with having 1 child.  I can’t imagine seeing myself carrying a stroller, car seat and changing diapers again.  I’m just about to get my independence back, go back to school,  Niya will be starting kindergarten in 2 years and I have a 14 year old step daughter.  My co-worker said,”I would might the urge to have another baby when Niya (my daughter) turns 7.”  I told her I didn’t think so.  I know my limit’s.  She said having an only child isn’t good! I let her know I have plenty of friends who only have one child and their child doesn’t suffer from the only child syndrome.   She agreed and said “Well, it probably isn’t a good ideal to have more than 1 child due to your diabetes.”  I had a great pregnancy! My Doc and I decided we would take Niya at 37 weeks.  I had a C-section, Niya wouldn’t come out. She was 5lbs 9 oz.  I had a healthy baby girl. I could’ve went off on her, I could’ve corrected her but instead I walked out the door.  I am amazed at the comments people make towards diabetes and pregnancy.   

I am not sure why people are under the assumption’s, women who have diabetes shouldn’t have more than 1 kid or any children at all.  People need to stop living in the 1950’s and realize how far medical technology has come.  Control your diabetes, it is possible to have healthy rugrats and if you want to have more than 1 go for it. 

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “Diabetes and Children

  • stickysweetmomma

    Tell her to call me & I’ll set her straight, LOL! I have not 1 but 2 beautiful and healthy little boys. It can AND does happen especially now with all of the advances in technology. Now, I did have a ceasearn with both kids and had to visit the doctor like crazy but I wouldn’t change it for the world. Kids are not for everybody and the number varies from person to person (diabetes or not). To each it’s own but don’t tell me what my limitations are because that’s God’s responsibility to let me (or you) know exactly what they are.

    Andrea B.

Leave a Reply

