Why I blog

A month ago I was asked by Mike Lawson, “Why Do you blog?” I didn’t answer his question, I kind of shyed away from it. I do remember one thing I said, “I blog because it’s theraputic. If I can share my story with someone else, why not?” Although it sounded like a good answer…I don’t think it was.

I started blogging in May 2008. I was searching on the internet, found dlife. I was amazed at all of the diabetic blogs I read! later on in the week. I was searching for Omnipod bloggers, I ran across TuDiabetes.com. I became a member and I talked to my Scott (husband) about starting my own blog. He thought it was a great ideal. I called my Mom, she helped me come up with names. I thought about using my Dx’d date 6/14/04…naw didn’t like that. I thought about “Life,Diabetes,ME”- I actually enjoyed it but it didn’t fit me. Last but not least. I asked my Mom about Diabeticisme. She liked it but she asked me to take away the “Is” and replace it with “Iz”! She said it would add a little more spice and it fits me more. DiabeticizMe was born.

I had a name, but why did I want to blog?

I started DiabeticizMe for me and for the person who doesn’t know how to come to terms with diabetes, I want them to know you can live with it. I wanted reach out to people with my issues/ non-issues. I wanted to share my life, struggles, cheat days, high bg’s readings, carb counting and so much more. I am glad I did. Blogging has taught me a lot about the Diabetic Online Community. I have met a lot of fun, interesting people–I consider them my family. To sum it all up, blogging has become my therapy, my passion and I love it!

My question to you: Why do you blog about Diabetes?

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “Why I blog

  • Scott K. Johnson

    We’re so glad that you did start!

    I too find it very therapeutic to get sometimes very vague feelings into words, and the exercise of bringing it all together into an attempt at a sensible post works me through those feelings.

    The feedback and support that everyone offers (thank you!) is an amazing bonus to that.

  • Why I do what I do « Sticky Sweet Diabetics

    […] diabetes sisters, tudiabetes by stickysweetmomma I was catching up on one of my favorite diabetes blogs  when I pondered the question Cherise posed in her post, Why do you blog? I started blogging so […]

Leave a Reply

