Diabetes & Family

I recieved a call last night from my little brother in MO. He never calls, usually texts back and fourth. I was a little worried. He said, “Pops is a little shakey. We think his blood sugar is high.” My Devonte (bro) was worried, I could tell by the sound in his voice.
“Devonte, what did his meter read? Did he test his blood sugar?”. Devonte paused. “Pops did you test your blood sugar? Cherise–he didn’t test.”
Ok. “Devonte, tell him to wash his hands and test his blood sugar.” Devonte repeated what I said to him to my step-father. My step-father is Type 2 non insulin dependent. He can’t UAE insulin to bring his numbers down.
I’m waiting patiently on the phone. Devonte said,”Cherise it’s 250.” I let him know that’s high. I told him if it was lower he could walk it off but it’s too dangerous to do any exercising if your bg’s are over 250. I told him to drink water and test his bg’s again in about an hour.

Hour later—

I was curious to know if my step-fathers numbers dropped. I called back, number was 350. OMG, that’s not good. I told him to drink water because he wants to start flushing his system out, keep the keytones out. I could hear him going off in the background. I explained to Devont that when diabetic’s have high numbers their moods change, we can be a little evil and don’t take it to heart. He understood.

This morning I called my step-father. I asked how he was doing. He said he was fine, his fasting was 200. He said he took NyQil and it made him go high. I said, “I’m worried about you. I want you to me around when Niya comes to visit. I want you to be able to chase her around. I don’t usually butt in and I hate being the Diabetic police but I’m going to call you every day and we’re going to get your Diabetes in control.” He said, “thank you.”

I hung up the phone, said a prayer. I hope he takes his health serious, if be doesn’t then it’s on him. I’m trying but be has to want it to control it.

Please keep him in your prayers.

Be Blessed
Cherise
iPhone Blog

Me, Step-father and Niya

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Diabetes & Family

  • Jolie

    It is so hard when someone you love is not as interested in taking care of themselves as you think they should be. I know how you feel about the diabetes police…but sometimes we have to mention it. You did good. He is in my thoughts and prayers.

  • Scott K. Johnson

    I’ll be thinking and praying for your pops. And for you too – it can be challenging being in that role sometimes. But, I know that you are an awesome caregiver, and for that he is fortunate.

    I was touched by him thanking you. Seems like he knows he’s got a good coach on his side.

  • stickysweetmomma

    My brother is a T1 just like me and he doesn’t take his medicine like he is supposed to, doesn’t eat right, never checks his blood sugar, doesn’t get enough sleep and he never goes to the doctor. Don’t ask me how he gets his insulin because it is a mystery to me. I’ve tried to implant as many positive vibes, thoughts and everything else into him that I can but so far nothing has worked. I feel like any day I’m going to get a phone call saying he’s in a diabetic coma. I’m not wishing it on him but he can’t keep ignoring the disease otherwise it will win and at an earlier age than it should.

    What I’ve learned is that everyone deals with illness and disease differently. It use to frustrate me to the point of tears but (like you) I prayed on it and I have let God have it. What else can I do?

    Hopefully your positive attitude and great resources will rub off on your step dad. I’m praying for you and your family!

    Andrea B.

Leave a Reply

