My 1st experience: ADA Diabetic Expo-Prt 1

Diabetes has been living with me for almost 5 years.   I read a lot of stories and pretty much stay update on all things diabetes via the Internet.  I have only read one book about diabetes and I wouldn’t say it’s really a book about diabetes because it’s more about pumping insulin.  I figure why spend money on a book when I can catch up and learn more from reading blog’s, news, health info via the Internet and WHY not try going to the American Diabetes Assocation Diabetic Expo?  I mean wouldn’t you think it would be all things diabetes? healthy living, exercise and all things diabetes?? How exciting to be in a room filled with Diabetic’s of all different ages, ethnic background’s and different Types.  I was really pumped up and excited so,  Saturday I met Jaimie and we took a trip to Long Beach, CA to attend our first Diabetic Expo.  

We arrived at the expo. The first thing we see is a sign that say’s “Diabetic Parking”…lol I know it’s a little dingy but I had to take a picture of it.

diabeticexpo 

We entered the Long Beach convention center and it was packed, wall to wall.  I thought it was cool to see the diabetic community come out to support the event.  Jaimie and I continued to walk and the smile I had on my face was washed away when I noticed the first booth,”Gastric Bypass and Lapband surgery.” There isn’t anything wrong with Gastric Bypass or Lapband sx, but I do have a problem with there being 3 booths and people getting their hopes up.  Gastric bypass and lapband are very hard to get approved through insurance companies.  When you have a FREE event that have  a lot of medcaid and medicare population…why would you market things that are so far out of reach. Medicare will barely pay for pump supplies and testing supplies, let alone gastric bypass sx.  

I did enjoy the Sweet Sucessbooth.  Sweet Success is a California Diabetes and Pregnancy program.   Sweet Success is a program based on seeing High risk pregnant women who have gestational diabetes mellitus.  I talked to the rep there, she said they see on average 20,000 women.  I asked her to explain the program to me.  Sandra (I think that’s her name) said, the ladies walk through the door and are greeted by MD’s, NP’s and Nutritionist. They help the woman from start to finish on managing diabetes by teaching them proper nutrition and how to maintain bg levels.  I could blog about Sweet Success all day but you have to check out their site.  Wouldn’t it be awesome to have the Sweet Success program around the USA.

The expo set-up wasn’t great.  Great speakers and great chef’s but you could hardly hear them speak due to the live band playing in the background.

To Be Cont…..Meet-up with Jaimie, George and Jenny & overall rating of the ADA Diabetic expo.

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “My 1st experience: ADA Diabetic Expo-Prt 1

Leave a Reply

