Logging Bg’s via iPhone Notes

I can’t believe I am going to give logging another try! I have wrote several post about logging in the past, wasn’t successful at it. I have an issue with trying to carry books around in my pocketbook. I have to admit I am not great at writing stuff down but Andrea thinks I can do it, so I’m giving logging another try.

I decided to log on my own terms. I am not using an iphone app; I don’t care for any of them. Too hard to get too and too much info. I decided to use the notes section on the iphone. I log my blood sugars/carb intake inside the notes, e-mail it to myself, print it off and place them in a book.

iPhone home screen

photo12

Notes

photo21

My Log

photo3

This is what the e-mail looks like (via notes)

Cherise’s log 4-30-09

Fasting bg 81

Breakfast-
Bagel 14 goc
Oreo Stick- 13 goc

Total: 27 goc

Snack
Melon Medley-14 goc, 60 Cal

Total: 14 goc, 60 Cal

Bg 75 12:00
1 glucose tab-5
28 almonds-6

Total: 11 goc

Lunch : 97
Julienne Salad
4 crackers
Italian dressing

Total: 25 goc

Before Dinner: 144
Whiskey River Burger-protein style
Side salad
Ice Tea

Total:40

Before bed: 76

Snack:
Fruit Chillers 13 goc cal 55

Total GOC: 123
Exercise: None

I think I might actually enjoy logging via the iPhone. I don’t have a reason why I couldn’t keep up…:) it’s Simple, Quick and I always have it with me. I hope this works.

Be Blessed

Cherise

PS I’m proud of myself! I’ve logged my bg’s/food intake for 5 days!!! Go, Me!

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

8 responses to “Logging Bg’s via iPhone Notes

  • CALpumper

    That’s awesome.

    So, are you a secret iPhone Sales Woman????!!!! šŸ˜‰

    One of these days….

    Logging has got to be on your own terms. Finding a way that works, is comfortable, easy, accessible….important.

    I use excel. I hate Seeing what I do All day. But it’s good data to have.

    Good luck Z-Pod!!! šŸ˜‰

    • Cherise

      No, CAL-Z I am not a secret sales person…lol although I should be.
      You are right, you have to fond what works best for you. If I used an excel spreadsheet, I would not be able to keep up.

      LOL, Z-pod! I love my new nickname

  • James Kocian

    Hi Cherise,
    I just found your blog, and I’m really enjoying it. Namely, a Christian diabetic that is not bitter about the diagnosis. I applaud your efforts, and as a long-time type-1, encourage you to keep up the positive attitude, despite what your meter may say!

    Take care,

    James

  • Karen

    Perfect perfect perfect!!! You have devised a system that works for you. That’s probably the hardest step – figuring out how to log in a way you can live with. You are rockin’ it, girl!!

  • Scott K. Johnson

    It’s all about finding a way that works for you right? And it sounds like you are doing fabulous at building the habit! Way to go!

  • stickysweetmomma

    YAY! I’m so happy your going at it again and you’ve found a way to do it that you like. Perfect!!!!

    Good Luck Girl

Leave a Reply

