Diabetes vs African Carib Aerobic’s

A few weeks ago, my supervisor came to work in pain. I asked if she was ok. She said, “Yes, Yesterday was my first day of African-Carib aerobics.” A light bulb flashed in my head. Um, so, tell me more about this class. Nat (supervisor) gave me a flyer it read “African Caribbean Dance Aerobics $5.00 per class and FREE childcare” OMG! where and when do I sign up. I have an issue with childcare, which stops me from going to the gym. She explained classes are on Wednesday’s at 5:30 pm. Sounds good to me. OH! I have to figure out my meal plan. I can’t do aerobic’s without eating! I don’t want to pass out during class. I decided to eat dinner before class. Sounds ok, right?exercise

My first class was last Wednesday. I pumped up and excited. I decided to go to BK (burger king) for chicken fries. My bg’s before dinner 109. I bolused for my carbs (45). Off to class. OMG, I worked muscles I didn’t know I had. I shook hips I didn’t know I could move. I had a full body work out. I felt good after class. I drove home. Drunk water and sent a tweet out. The time came for me to test my bg’s. My meter read 215! holy crap. I thought I would drop instead of going up. I did a correction bolus. I turned on my temp basal setting (9.5 to 1.0) for 8 hours. The next morning I woke up with a fasting bg of 85! I didn’t worry too much. Need to e-mail Wes (NP-Endo).

My E-mail to Wes:

Hello Wes! I hope all is well. I just started taking an aerobic class last week. I ate before (109)bolused for dinner. After I exercised, checked bg’s and my meter read 215. Help! Do I need to bolus before exercise?!?! Not sure what to do.

Wes’s Response to my e-mail:

No, don’t bolus before exercise unless you eat something.

Make sure that this is not an isolated event. Typically exercise lowers
glucose.

However, if you have this problem as a pattern, you should use a temporary
basal for the exercise time.

You can set a preset temp basal on the Omnipod PDM. Call it Aerobic Class
and set if for something like +20% for 2 hrs (or whatever is appropriate to
control bGs around that time).

This will be sort of a trial and error thing, so don’t expect to get it
perfect the first try.

Good luck, let me know how it goes.

Wes

I went to McDonald’s, ordered 10 piece chicken nugget’s and a diet coke. I bolused for 30 carbs. I drove to class. I set my temp basal setting at 20%. READY TO GO! I shook more, moved more and kicked this time. I felt good. Crossing fingers.

2 hours after eating and exercising, checked bg’s 94! Yes, Can I get an AMEN?!?!?! Amen!

Be Blessed

Cherise

PS- I am under Wes’s care. Consult with your healthcare team before making drastic changes to your basal or bolus settings.

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Diabetes vs African Carib Aerobic’s

Leave a Reply

