Has it already been a year?

blogann

 

OMG! I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for 1 year. Time sure flies by when your having fun.  I don’t have much to blog about today.  So, I decided to share my first few post with my friends. 

My first blog post (minus a few lines) 5/4/08-In December of 2007, I noticed my BG’s were getting a little out of control; I would only eat 2 carb choices (30g of carbs) and my readings would read 200. I called my new NP and she said maybe I had an infection; test came back negative for infection. I called back a week later; fasting BG’s 150 and above. We thought I could be pregnant; not the case. She added metformin before lunch to my already 2 glipizde’s bid (2.5mg), 2 metformin’s bid (500mg). I called her back a week later; med’s still not working. I asked her to put a referral in for me to see a Endo. I went to see NP at the Endo’s office and he changed my medication again; still didn’t work. I told Wesley I was DX w/ Type 1.5/LADA. He ran GAD65 test and told me I am now a Type 1 diabetic because my antibodies attacked my immune system. I was placed on Lantus once a day at night; still didn’t work, my Before and after meal BG’s were still too high. I went back to the office and Wesley put me on Humolog 3x a day. He said I might want to start looking into insulin pumps.

I told him I was interested in the OMNIPOD system.  I went on You Tube and saw how the omnipod system worked; it’s my best option. I put my authorization request in. I was denied by my insurance because the only documentation I sent is stated I was a Type 2 diabetic. I appealed the denial and it was overturned. My Pod is due to arrive on Thursday. I am excited. No more MDI (multiple daily injections) for me.
 
Here’s another: 5/7/08

It’s early here, good thing the alarm clock went off, my Bg’s are low;
63!
I hate being low! My legs shake and I get overly excited about
everything. I am shocked I am low.

Last night I decided to have sum 10 chicken nuggets (5=15g) and about
10 French fries (22g); yummy for my tummy! My before bed bg’s was 195
after almost 2 hours…just have to watch it! Luckily I don’t eat
nuggets and fries all the time or I need to make sure I take more than
5 units of insulin—I thought 5 units would be enough.
Work is going to be a little crazy for the rest of the week! We are
short staffed. Lord, please give me the strength to make it at work w/
o killing anyone ( just a figure of speech). Cause I am going to need
you today; like everyday.

 

Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog.  I really appreciate the support from the DOC community! Please continue to visit, read or leave a comment if you like.  I really appreciate all of the love you all have shown to “Diabeticizme”.  I promise to keep on providing to tunes (blogs) to keep you ROCKING (reading).

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

4 responses to “Has it already been a year?

Leave a Reply

