Humor Me

Recently, I’ve had a lot of low (hypoglycemia) blood sugars.  I’m not sure why, it’s been happening a lot at work.   The first occurrence happened on the Memorial Day weekend, when we have a 3 day weekend we have to double the work load.   I don’t work on Saturday or Sunday–the clock is still rolling, deadlines have to be met.  I ate chicken fried rice (homemade) for lunch.  I bolused for 34 carbs, extended 50% of my bolus out for 2 hours and ate lunch.    I went back to my desk, back to work I went.    Running around the office, I felt a little light headed.  I felt my world spinning.  I tested my blood sugar; meter read 58.  I looked in my purse for my glucose tabs, nothing there.  I checked my desk drawer, no glucose tabs.  I was ok, I asked my co-worker to grab me some candy.  My co-worker was scared, people started coming to my desk.  “Are you ok?”  I let them know I was fine.   “Do you need chocolate?”  No, thank you.  “Do you want me to go to the car to get the glucose tablets?” No, I’m ok.  I don’t want to over treat my low.  A few minutes passed, re-checked and my meter was 56.   The words weren’t coming out of my mouth as fast as my mind was processing them.  My Supervisor came over to me, “You are not driving home. Joy will drive you to pick up Niya.  You will sit at Joy’s house for a few hours before you can go home.”  scolding

My Motto: NO TALKING WHILE LOW!  I don’t want to say anything I can’t take back.  I have a lot of emotions running through my head, don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.

I decided to explain the importance of the CGM. CGM’s get denied a lot;  due to the Pt’s health plan but at least she has a better understanding. 

I ate a piece of bread w/ peanut butter, bg 78! yeppie!! I can go home.    My Supervisor asked me to Humor her, let someone take me home. LOL, I’m really ok.  I don’t need anyone to driver me anywhere.  She said, “Cherise, humor me.”  I obliged.  I hung out with my friend Joy for a few hours. Checked bg it was 120.  I texted my supervisor to let her know I made it home ok.  I returned back to work on Tuesday,  “Are you ok?” Yes.  I told my supervisor, “I felt like a hostage, held against my will.”  She said, “We care about you! WE didn’t want anything to happen to you.”

 It’s great to work with people who care, at the same time it could be a little overwhelming.  Are your co-workers a little over protective of you?

Be Blessed

Cherise

Be Blessed

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

4 responses to “Humor Me

  • CALpumper

    Ok, I SO understand where you as the T1 are coming from. SO understand.

    But man, your co-workers ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have Never had co-workers that cared like that. At least not on the shift I worked or anywhere near the dept I worked in.

    Glad I work from home now. Just easier.
    You have Wonderful co-workers Z-Pod.

    And I so get the emotions, words there, brain running a million miles an hours and no words making sense or are they? Not fun.
    Hostage. Made me smile. Wish some people had held me hostage back then instead of running myself ragged to get my bg up so they would just leave me alone. Ugh.

  • Scott K. Johnson

    Lows stink (Major Suckage Yo! – as CAL has taught me to say!).

    As you say, it’s kind of a double edged sword. It’s touching that they care so much about you, but man, hostage for sure!

  • Cherise

    Don’t get me wrong. I love my co-workers but sometimes they forget “I’m the one living with diabetes” lol as Akon said “They got me locked up” hahaha

  • Prt 2: Humor Me «

    […] life, support and venting Tags: diabetes, life, work I wrote a post a few weeks ago,  Humor Me.   My Supervisor held me hostage until my low (58) came up. I was told I needed to make an […]

Leave a Reply

