I’m getting along fine with diabetes

I’m a little curious…Are you and the “D” getting along? My current A1C is 6.3! I am very happy with it. I actually couldn’t believe it. It was 6.9 prior to my last apppintment. So, I’ve made some adjustments in my life to better my relationship with the “D”. The first thing I did was lower the amount of carbs I eat. I know low carb doesn’t work for everyone, it works for me. I have been able to mantain great bg’s (average 100). The next thing I did was increase my exercise. Woot! Exercise is great for all diabetic’s not matter whay type you have. The problem with exercise is trying to adjust, I could either be too high or too low. Patience is the key. Fix it and tweek it. It takes time but you can do it. I would rather be around with the “D”, rather than 6ft deep due to complications.

I am not looking for perfection. I want to see steady numbers without deprieveing myself. Diabetes is a pain but it’s not the hardest thing to deal with. I make sacrifices to live a healthy, long life.

Be Blessed
Cherise
iPhone blog

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “I’m getting along fine with diabetes

  • Bethany

    I’m so glad to hear another T1 use the analogy of “D’ as something you need to get along with. I used to tell my docs that I “interact as little as possible with my diabetes” just enough to stay healthy. WHich landed me in the mid-7’s every time I got my A1c done. Now I’m just concentrating more and its down to 7! Imagine what I could do if I tried to “befriend” my “d”! Not, like, close friends, or anything – like acquaintances or something.

  • Scott K. Johnson

    Good for you Cherise! That is an awesome A1C!

  • Judy Lemire

    I would like to say that you are right. You should take controle of life. I have been trying since I found out that I was borderline and believe me it is hard. My family wont even think of helping me and when I do have something in the frige for me that is low in sugar and is just for me either the grandkids or the other half gets to it and then there is none for me.

    I would like to know how you do it and if you can give me some advice on what can be done.

    Thank you for your input.

    Judy

Leave a Reply

