Mom, I want to be a Diabetic

 

I was reading a post on the Blogging Diabetes called “8 Tips for a Better A1C“,  written by Lorraine.  The post was amazing and I enjoyed it.  I decided to watch the video  of Caleb.  The video showed how the Omnipod has helped Caleb live a almost “normal” life with diabetes.  Niya (3 year-old) was sitting next to me.  She started asking questions.

Niya– “Mom, he is too little to have a Pod.”

Me-“Niya it’s ok, he has diabetes.  You can get diabetes at any age.”

Niya- “Why does he have a Pod?  He has diabetes?”

Me– “Yes, he has diabetes.  He has diabetes just like your Me, Jaimie and Ninja (George).”

Niya– “Mom, I want to be like you.  I want to be a diabetic.” 

Gosh, my heart began to pound. Think. Think. THINK.  Breathe.  I didn’t want to paint a negative picture of diabetes.  Think. Think. Think.  OK, Breathe.    Niya,  there’s a chance you might become a diabetic.  Right now,  enjoy being you.  I understand you want to be like me– you have my personality, smile and you make people laugh.  I do all of those things, so you are just like me:)  She left the room. I was shocked. I began to pray.  “Lord, please don’t let diabetes  interfere with my little girls life.”  I pray it won’t happen, that’s all I can do.

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

8 responses to “Mom, I want to be a Diabetic

  • CALpumper

    How Adorable she is. Inquisitive. Amazing. Adore her.
    I pray the D does not interrupt her life either.

    You rock Z-Pod. You are such a Great mom. 😉

  • Kelly K

    Cherise-
    Niya is amazing and so are you !
    You handled the situation perfectly.
    Well done ma-ma – and BIG (((HUGS)))
    k2
    P.S. I can’t wait until I get to meet you both face to face!

  • Tony Rose

    Hmmm, I’m not sure how I would handle that without thinking through it first. I would probably have been honest and told her it’s not all the fun it’s cracked up to be.

    Thanks for the link and great post! Great pics too!

  • Sara

    What a little sweetheart!!

    I hope I get to see you guys again when I am in Cali this month!

  • Jenny

    I swear, my eyes filled when I read that. Having met you and Niya and I could just hear her little, bitty voice…. Aw, man. I hope the ‘diabeasties’ don’t touch Niya. Bless her heart!

  • Karen

    Wow. You handled that perfectly. Just reading it was like a dagger through my heart, and I can’t even imagine how much worse it was for you. But she doesn’t really understand – she just wants to be like her Mommy. Here’s to Diabetes being the one way she is different than her awesome Mommy.

  • jenny

    It brought tears to my eyes too. Though I don’t ‘know’ you and Niya I was still sad reading it.

    She wants diabetes because she wants to be just like her mommy. 🙂 I pray that she never actually gets it though.

Leave a Reply

