That’s what insulin is for…

I took my daughter to Red Robin for dinner on Friday night.  It was extremely crowded, we sat next to a couple and their 3 teenage kids.  We chatted a little bit.  We laughed a little bit.  We talked about the Army.  OK, I still don’t know these people.  The teenage girl asked me if I wanted a blueberry lemonade (see below).

 

redrobin I declined.  The teenage girl looked at me with a weird face.  I said “I am a diabetic.  I can’t have that drink!” She said, “That’s what insulin is for.” Well excuse me! I am sorry but I do not want to drink something that is full of sugar. She looked at me with a strange look on her face.  Her mom said, “I have a nice who is a diabetic. She is on a high fiber diet.”  I told her that was awesome and walked away. Teenagers say stupid things sometimes…Gosh, I can’t believe I use to be one.

Be Blessed

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “That’s what insulin is for…

  • CALpumper

    ha ha ha ha

    Been one too.
    Funny when you look back at yourself when you are in the current moment of a teenage, uh, mindset.

    Sheesh.

  • jenny

    blueberry lemonade?? Weird! I never drink anything that I can eat, (hope you understand what I mean) but I’m confused as to why you were upset that she said that. Were you upset? haha I’m a little confused obviously.

    I would be happy that the teenager knew that PWD can eat/drink whatever they want if they dose with insulin correctly. Most people I encounter (including teens) think I should not have it because they think PWD can’t have sugar.

Leave a Reply

