Got Diabetes? Top 10 reasons to use Twitter

twitter_bird

PerPCMag.com: Twitter is a Web site and service that lets users send short text messagesup to 140 characters in length from their cellphones to a group of people. Launched in 2006, Twitter (www.twitter.com) was designed to keep friends and colleagues informed about one’s daily activities.

It’s not a secret, I am a huge fan of twitter and sending tweets. I know there are a lot of people who refuse to use twitter but if you are a PWD, you may want to think about joining twitter. I decided to list why you may want to rethink using twitter your a PWD or family member of a PWD.

Top 10 reasons:

1. There are ton’s of PWD’s/family member’s on twitter! no matter what type you have, you can find someone to relate too.

2. Wouldn’t it be nice to get to know the author of blog’s you read? There are a a lot of diabetic blogger’s who tweet.

3. Not having a good blood sugar day, No one to talk too? Tweet it someone will respond.

4. If you want to know the number of carbs in a meal or certain food.

5. Your husband, spouse, mother, father, brother, sister or friend just don’t understand Diabetes.

6. Want to keep track of the latest and greatest news or have news to share.

7. If you needs a quick response to all things diabetes. Remember twitter doesn’t replace your Endo or Doctor.

8. Keep track of JDRF, Tudiabetes , Diabetic OC and more.

9. There is always a PWD on twitter! You are never alone.

10. Laughing is great therapy. People say things you don’t expect them too.

The reason’t I listed above are why I use twitter. I look at twitter as fun, spontaneous and great conversation. I love the HUGE support system….

If you are interested in joining Twitterbetic’s visit TuDiabetes.com. TuD has a group just for people who tweet and their usernames. I hope you all had a great weekend.

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

3 responses to “Got Diabetes? Top 10 reasons to use Twitter

  • Martin Janiczek

    Great post!
    About the 4) – Google does the same thing, but without the conversation 😉
    And … what/who is PWD? I’m not familiar with this term 🙂

  • Cherise

    Martin-

    Thanks for the google information:) PWD (People with Diabetes)

  • Martin Janiczek

    Aha, People with Diabetes 🙂

    For the example of how I search carbs – let’s say I want to eat some Toffifee (yum!), but there’s no nutrition info on the box. Let’s go to google.com and search: nutrition toffifee. Click the first link and on the right (if you’re on the same page as I) you should see nutrition table:

    Nutrition Facts
    Serving Size: 5 pieces (41g)
    Amount per Serving
    Calories 200 Calories from Fat 100
    Total Fat 11g
    Saturated Fat 5g
    Sodium 50mg
    Total Carbohydrate 25g
    Dietary Fiber 1g
    Sugars 18g
    Protein 2g

    And from this you can calculate anything you need – for example now I know that 5 pieces of Toffifee are approx. 2 BU 🙂

Leave a Reply

