My First Insulin Injection

I will never forget the day I found out I was pregnant with my daughter.  insulininjectI went to the ER because I was experiencing pain in the lower part of my abdomen.  The ER doc asked me a few questions.  I let him know I was a diabetic and so fourth.  He said, “Ok, I want to run a few labs.” He ran the labs and guess what I found out I was pregnant on April Fools day!   I scheduled an appointment with my NP, she scheduled a STAT appointment for me to see an OBGYN.    I couldn’t get into see the OBGYN soon enough. So, I saw my endo.  He took me off of glipizide and started me on NPH ASAP.  OK, I have never used insulin before. I have Type 1.5/LADA and my original treatment was oral medications.  OH, I’ll be ok. I can do this.  I walked out of my Endo’s office pumped up.

Later that evening, I cooked dinner.  I went into the ice box, grabbed my insulin,  went into my bedroom (step-daughter watching).  I filled the syringe up. I placed the syringe to my stomach.  I couldn’t do it.  I kept saying out loud “Cherise, You can do this.  It’s for the your baby.” guess, what I couldn’t do it.  I cried.  I didn’t have an orange to practice on.  I had to practice on my stomach; the real thing. I knew I wouldn’t hurt my baby but the thought of taking a needle to my stomach, made my heart sink.

   30 minutes later, still standing in front of the mirror with the needle in my hand and no injection.  I called Scott into the bedroom.  He said, “Baby, You can do it.” he took his hand and wrapped it around mine. “On the count of 3, we are going to inject your stomach with insulin.  1…2…!” the syringe went in.  I was so proud of myself and of my hubby.  After my first insulin injection, it was downhill from there. 

37 weeks Pregnant and up to 4 shot’s a day. 

 

prego

 I read a post titled “Reveling in our Independence Day”written by Zita.  She is a T-3 (support system) for her son who was dx’d with diabetes 7 years ago.  The post was great and it brought me to tears! You have to check it out! her blog post inspired me to blog about my first insulin injection.  Zita– keep up the good work! Your an awesome MOM.

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

4 responses to “My First Insulin Injection

  • CALpumper

    Holy pregnant were You!!

    The first shot is always a biggie, you Never forget. I remember mine. All too well.
    But you Did it.

    And now you’re one the Pod. So it’s all good.

  • stickysweetmomma

    Look at you all preggers! You were so freaking cute :0) Not that your not cute now but I can say that I was not cute when I was preggers. The baby’s stole my cuteness luckily they gave it back when they made there grand entrance into the world. LOL! I never freaked out about my first injection but I do have issues about others injecting me. I told Thomas this weekend that he needs to learn how to inject me just in case something happens.

    Great post as usual!

  • Scott K. Johnson

    Great post Cherise! I can only imagine how hard that first shot was.

    Thanks for sharing the picture too – that made me grin and remember my little lady when she was preggers.

  • Dman

    Thank you for this wonderful article. I am diabetic and would like to hAve 2nd child. I am just postponing scared of Insulin injection. Can you let me know if it is painful or painless ? Does the injection pain increase after the stomach becomes big? Pls advise.

Leave a Reply

