Click, Click, Click 14k times

July 14, 2009 ate 4pm EST–14,000 People with Diabetes Test Their Blood Sugar at the same time! I was part of the massive lancing device “clicking” and meter’s beeping.  I never have an issue testing my bg’s, but this time it had a meaning….I tested my bg’s with my brother’s and sister’s around the world who have diabetes.  I was sitting at work, watching all of the tweets.  The count down began.  The DOC (Diabetic online community) was showing their support on twitter by tweeing #14kPWD.  Manny would tweet and the rest of the community would retweet.   I decided to record my experience. I was in the bathroom when I recorded the video, lol by any means necessary:)

 

here are a few tweets I captured with my iphone.

pwd2

pwd3

pwd5

pwd6

 

It was amazing! Twitter was filled with #14kPWD and Tudiabetes was flooded with reading’s from around the world.  Who would’ve ever thought…1 sugachine, 1 lancet, 1 lancing device and 1 test strip would bring unity to the diabetic community….:)    What were your thoughts when you tested your blood sugar and posted the information? lol, maybe I’m being a little TOO emotional !?!?!

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

8 responses to “Click, Click, Click 14k times

  • K2

    FANTASTIC NUNBER MY DIABETES SISTER!
    Kelly K

  • Kelly Rawlings

    It felt good! Lots of positive reinforcement for the value of self-monitoring blood glucose.

    No critiques on the numbers (which is great, because we critique ourselves too much as it is). Just number after number, from young and old, male and female, type 1 and type 2, English and Spanish, black and white. People posted that they made smart health decisions based on their individual numbers, like treating below 70 mg/dl with some glucose. Me likey!

    Calculations are still in the works … we didn’t reach 14,000 posts with #14kpwd.

    But I sure made a lot of new friends with diabetes. And I can’t wait to see what we can do for World Diabetes Day in November. Click, click, click.

  • Lorraine

    You are soooo coordinated to do that all at once! Nice documentary! It was exciting knowing that we were all united at that moment!

  • Marie

    I was very emotional about it too, the countdown was so exciting! I wonder how we can get more PWD involved so it will be a “trending topic” on Twitter. I also want to give kudos to those who posted with high numbers. We love ya’all.

  • CALpumper

    Z-Pod got skillz!!!! One handed testing. Nice.
    Thanks for sharing your video. Awesomeness.

    It was way cool to see all the results poor in. What a great way to bring a worldwide community together. Hope to do it again soon.
    😉

  • jenny

    awesome video!! I can’t believe you could do all that with one hand!! yay for 14kPWD!!

  • Cherise

    Thank you all for the comments. I enjoyed clicking my lancing device for diabetes and with my bro’s and sis.

    I was able to record the video with my iphone…lol it made it a lot easier

  • Scott K. Johnson

    Great stuff Sis!

    I was filled with pride and excitement – it was SO NEAT to see all of the results pouring into twitter! I loved it.

Leave a Reply

