Cherise, I have a personal question

I am “scheduled” to leave work at 4:00 pm everyday, do I leave at 4 pm everyday? No. I usually get the bulk of my “STAT” calls around 3:00 pm. Not a problem. I take care of the call and then go home. Today, I recieved a call from “V”. Her voice didn’t sound happy, it had a really serious tone–not normal. Our coversation went as followed-

V- “Hey, Chica! It’s me V.”

Me- “Hey, what’s up?”

V- “I have a personal question to ask you. Is it ok for me to ask?”

Me- “Sure, go ahead.”

V- “Do you have diabetes?”

Me- “Yes. Why what’s up?”

V- “I rec’d the e-mail you sent. I clicked on the link.”

Me-“The link to my blog?”

V- “yes! Omg. Cherise, you have to take care of yourself.”

I stopped her in the middle of her sentence..”I take excellent care of myself. You don’t have to worry about me. If you have any questions about diabetes please feel free to ask. I am open and honest.”

She went on to say they Dr.M and Dr. S are starting to go to seminars about diabetes and trying to learn healthy and more efficent ways to help their patients take care of/control their diabetes. I told her about TCOYD and a few other things both Doc’s might want to look into. The last question I asked her was “Does your office have a diabetic support group?” She said “Not yet.” I couldn’t believe their office didn’t have a support group. I told her o let me know when they get a support group going and I would be more than happy to attend.

I wanted to volunteer to help start a support group for their office but I need to figure out how to do it without crossing the line of business and “personal”.

If you all have an idea’s on how I can approach “V” about the diabetic support group without crossing lines, please let me know.

Be Blessed

Cherise
iPhone Blog

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “Cherise, I have a personal question

  • Jill

    I think that you offered was good. You can’t force her to take you up on it, though. Maybe you could write down the titles of some good books, ones that encourage support as well, so that she is armed with more information. Is this girl in your office or is she one of your clients? I might even offer to host the first meeting, perhaps? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

