Doc-Are you stuck on stupid?

 I have a high school friend who was just diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes last week.    I let him know everything would be ok. He said he knew it would be but he know he doesn’t want to end up like his father, who died from complications from diabetes. I told him diabetes isn’t a death sentence, you just have to take care of yourself.   He had his first appointment today.

I sent my friend a text message to see how his appointment went.  The appointment went good.  The Doc gave him med’s and he is going to make an appointment to the endocrinologist I recommended.   My next question was “What meter did your Doc give you?”.   He text back.  “He didn’t give me one.”  blood_glucose_250x251I couldn’t believe what I just read.  Why would someone  give a newly diagnosed diabetic medication without a meter?  Is his Doc stuck on stupid; he must be. The  Doc is sending the wrong message–“It’s ok to take your medication but don’t test your blood sugar.” I don’t get it. 

I told my friend to continue to watch what he eats, until he get’s his meter. If he had any questions I will be willing to help as much as I could.  OMG! I am upset right now.   I bet his Doc doesn’t practice– Patient First.  What a shame!  I am so upset right now.  I don’t get it.  I know his Doc has plenty of meter’s to give out to newly diagnosed diabetic’s.  Maybe I’m wrong? 

 

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

8 responses to “Doc-Are you stuck on stupid?

  • Sara

    When I was first (incorrectly) disgnosed, the doc gave me a meter and said “Come back if you get really sick or pregnant”. No other instruction. Unfortunately not really any different from not having a meter at all. Very frustrating!

  • tmana

    Mine didn’t either — but my Other Half had already been told to monitor by his (then-previous) health insurance company. So I knew enough to pick up a meter (and a pressure cuff) and keep logs. And the doc is cool with me checking however-many times a day despite my being completely on diet-and-exercise.

    Mom’s doc didn’t give her a meter either. She’s the only one of her peers with diabetes who does not test, but she’d not be motivated to test unless her doctor told her to — and if she could afford the Medicare co-pays for strips. Right now it’s a struggle for her just to put food on the table.

    Frank’s dad’s doc gave him a meter and told him to test twice daily: morning fasting and evening before bed. This was a year or two before the EASD paper stating that this would give a reasonably accurate assessment of a Type 2’s A1c. “Pop” was diagnosed after the age of 80; his medical is covered by the Veteran’s Administration.

    Frank’s aunt’s doc gave her a meter and told her to test three times a WEEK, fasting, and using only one of three fingers. She will not change that unless the doctor tells her to change, and she has been forgetting what the doctor tells her (her daughters have had to keep track and remind her).

    And then last year there was that whole skewed UK study that decided that for T2s to test AT ALL only led to depression and anxiety. (It was a very flawed study that generated a lot of heat in the DOC.)

    So there is a whole spectrum of understanding of the role of testing in Type 2 Diabetes.

    Then there is the other likelihood: your friend’s PCP does not want to contradict whatever advice and instructions the endo will give him, so he’s saying nothing and letting the endo do everything.

  • cathy thompson

    Wow I have heard this before as well with some of my friends who came to me to ask for some advice . They told me that the drs now are not giving out meters because if they give out too many the med reps can charge them for them so this is not unusual where I live and i for one think it stinks . Boy the whole medical environment needs an overhaul in this country .

  • Cara

    This happened to a friend of mine. “Here, have some metformin and come back in 2 months.” No meter, no diet plan of any kind. No anything. Luckily, she listened to me and made an immediate appointment w/ an endo and bought herself a meter.

  • Suzanne

    I personally find this doctor to be practicing medicine irresponsibly. If he doesn’t have the medical know how to treat a t2 then he shouldn’t be giving them meds! I saw this all the time at my internship, newly diagnosed t2s who were given meds but not told anything about glucose monitoring, let alone getting a meter. And wouldn’t you know that a couple of clients actually passed out from hypos once on the meds!

  • Kelly Rawlings

    Even more than the meter, what was missing from this doc-patient visit was a referral to medical nutrition therapy (meeting with a registered dietitian) to establish weight goals and how to get there. Daily exercise and calorie limitation–even more than carbohydrate limitation–is key at this point of diagnosis.

    In the early stage of type 2 diagnosis, WE KNOW that losing 10-20 pounds (5-7% of body weight) has definite long-range benefits in terms of delaying or minimizing complications (the insulin-producing cells of the pancreas do not overproduce as heavily and poop out soon, as they do if weight is not lost) EVEN IF some of the weight is later regained.

    So sorry your friend had this experience–glad he’s got you in his life!

  • Cherise

    Thank you ladies for yor input. I am sure the meter companies cut back. Personally it’s negligence on the Doc’s part. Why would you give someone medication, not give them the tools they need to check their blood sugar..SMH

  • Scott K. Johnson

    Boy, that is scary isn’t it? It’s no wonder why so many people struggle with this thing! It’s only the very motivated that actually seek out more than what the doc says. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

