The Importance of Meet-up’s

Repeat from TuDiabetes

Sara, Me, Jaimie, George and Niya

Last weekend myself and Jaimie planned a meet-up for the TuDiabetes Long Beach, CA area. I am glad we planned the meet-up. I the chance to see Rebecca and meet Arturo. I see Jaimie all the time. When it comes to anything diabetes related you’ll pretty much see the two of us together.

Rebka and I

Please bare with me, I was going to blog about the meet-up over at my personal blog– I decided to come back home (TuDiabetes) to share why diabetes meet-up’s are important to me and a lot of other people in the diabetes online community.

George (ninjabetic), Me and Scott K. Johnson

Chatting with someone or responding to someone online is a learning experience and powerful thing. I am not knocking online communities by any means–sometimes it’s great to sit with and conversate with someone who understands you. It’s awesome to compare notes, learn about someone else’s story and lifestyle. Meet-up’s brings us closer together, bonds unlike any other–it doesn’t matter what type of diabetes you have.

Manny, Me, Santi and Niya

Have you ever met, sat with or talked to someone with diabetes other than someone over the computer? If not, you do not know what your missing.

Jaimie, Jenny and Me

I promise if you take the time out of your busy schedule to attend 1 meet-up, I promise you it will be well worth it. Once you attend your first meet-up, you’ll never look at diabetes the same. You never know who will inspire you and who you’ll inspire.

Rebka, Arturo, Ally

Diabetes is becoming a global epidemic. We have to start meet-up’s, raise our voice and getting the word out. Diabetes Community Rock’s online but what about the people who are touched diabetes that doesn’t have internet access? I challenge YOU to start a meet-up in your area. So, what if no one shows. I promise the more you talk about it, the more people will show up. Bill Gates didn’t get rich overnight. If the Susan G. Komen foundation can make a difference in the world, by spreading awareness….So can YOU and I.

If you need any help planning meet-ups. Let me know.

Let’s work together! Let’s spread the word…1 meet-up, 1 voice, 1 computer, 1 community, 1 town, 1 city, 1 state and 1 country at a time. We can do it!!!

Be Blessed

Cherise

If I miss spelled words or my grammer is off. I am not sorry! I am speaking from my heart Sara, Me, Jaimie, George and Niya

Last weekend myself and Jaimie planned a meet-up for the TuDiabetes Long Beach, CA area. I am glad we planned the meet-up. I the chance to see Rebecca and meet Arturo. I see Jaimie all the time. When it comes to anything diabetes related you’ll pretty much see the two of us together.

Rebka and I

Please bare with me, I was going to blog about the meet-up over at my personal blog– I decided to come back home (TuDiabetes) to share why diabetes meet-up’s are important to me and a lot of other people in the diabetes online community.

George (ninjabetic), Me and Scott K. Johnson

Chatting with someone or responding to someone online is a learning experience and powerful thing. I am not knocking online communities by any means–sometimes it’s great to sit with and converse with someone who understands you. It’s awesome to compare notes, learn about someone else’s story and lifestyle. Meet-up’s brings us closer together, bonds unlike any other–it doesn’t matter what type of diabetes you have.

Manny, Me, Santi and Niya

Have you ever met, sat with or talked to someone with diabetes other than someone over the computer? If not, you do not know what your missing.

Jaimie, Jenny and Me

I promise if you take the time out of your busy schedule to attend 1 meet-up, I promise you it will be well worth it. Once you attend your first meet-up, you’ll never look at diabetes the same. You never know who will inspire you and who you’ll inspire.

Rebka, Arturo, Ally

Diabetes is becoming a global epidemic. We have to start meet-up’s, raise our voice and getting the word out. Diabetes Community Rock’s on-line but what about the people who are touched diabetes that doesn’t have inter net access? I challenge YOU to start a meet-up in your area. So, what if no one shows. I promise the more you talk about it, the more people will show up. Bill Gates didn’t get rich overnight. If the Susan G. Komen foundation can make a difference in the world, by spreading awareness….So can YOU and I.

If you need any help planning meet-ups. Let me know.

Let’s work together! Let’s spread the word…1 meet-up, 1 voice, 1 computer, 1 community, 1 town, 1 city, 1 state and 1 country at a time. We can do it!!!

Be Blessed

Cherise

If I miss spelled words or my grammar is off. I am not sorry! I am speaking from my heart

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

4 responses to “The Importance of Meet-up’s

  • George

    I think I am seeing double!

    I love meet ups and I love that I am in so many of those pictures above!

  • Karen

    Well said, Cherise!! The D-OC is so important and helpful. But real-life meet-ups are also important and helpful in a different way. Sitting down with a group of people who really “get it” is priceless. Everyone should try to take part in both!!! Here in my corner of the country, we try to have our “Fairfield County Diabetes Dinners” every month or so. Our last one was just last night, and I’m still smiling about all the fun we had!! šŸ™‚

  • Cherise

    George-

    You are silly! haha You are awesome and I am glad I had the chance to meet you! You crack me up.

    Karen-

    That is awesome. I agree with your comment. “Fairfield County D-Dinners” awesome name and I bet the food is as great as the company.

  • Scott K. Johnson

    I agree! Meet-ups are a real big help in fighting the isolation that we all feel at times.

Leave a Reply

