Slow and Steady

Slow and Steady-Chasing 6.0

A couple of weekends ago, I went to the lab to have my A1C, C-peptide, Vitamin D and Thyroid levels checked.  I was excited. I wanted to see what my A1C and C-peptide levels were.  I always tell myself my A1C is going to be higher than what it is, so if it’s high I want be disappointed–it’s a mind game I play with myself, it works for me. 

  I am scheduled to see Wes (NP-Endo) on Thursday, I couldn’t help myself.  I called the office,  asked the young lady if my lab results came in.  Guess what?! My A1C is 6.2! I’m moving slow and steady to 6.0! I am breaking away from the mental block I was given a few years ago! I’m not going to lie. I needed to know what the standard was and is, but I realize my body has changed, not on oral medication anymore and pancreas isn’t working like it use too.  If I maintain 6.2 for the next 3 months I am satisfied. If I can move it down to 6.1 I will be even more satisfied.  I am learning with diabetes you have to take baby steps, bolus correctly, adjust insulin, maintain a low carb way of life, exercise–I see progress. I want to be honest with you–I do have days where I wonder 205, how did I get that number? Stress kills, it’s terrible for diabetic’s.  I vent, correct, pray that it comes day and I let go.

I am the turtle and diabetes is the hare.

hare_turtle

Diabetes may get the best of at times, I’m damn sure it’s not going to get the best of me all the time.

 

Be Blessed

Cherise

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

6 responses to “Slow and Steady

Leave a Reply

