OmniPod PDM-Error

Before dinner I had to test my bg’s, there’s an error…My PDM says, “Remove POD, PDM error” Beep Beep…OMG! What do I do??? I have never had this issue before. Should I remove the POD? beep, beep!!! I can’t get the PDM to stop beeping.
I noticed on the bottom of the PDM it says call insulet and it gave me a reference number.
I am trying to fix dinner, my family is staring at me!!!

I can’t believe it, I jinxed myself;that’s what I get for saying I haven’t had any issues.

Katrina (Insulet): “Thank you for calling the Insulet Corp. How can I help you?”
Me: “Hello, I was testing my BG’s and the PDM read—PDM error and starting alarming! I have never had this problem before.”
Katrina: “Do you have a paper clip? You will have to take the back of the PDM off, it needs to be reset. Push in the little button underneath the battery.”
Me: “Ok, will I lose all of my setting’s?”
Katrina: “No, your setting’s will be ok but you will not be able to bolus. You have to use a new POD.”
Me: “Will you send me a new Pod? I just started using my current POD yesterday.”
Katrina: “Sure.”

I changed my POD and I still wasn’t able to bolus

Me: “How come I can’t bolus?”
Katrina: “You have to enter it manually the first time and after that it should pick up your setting’s.”
Me: “ok!”
Katrina: “Do you feel comfortable with using the OmniPod and Do you have any questions?”
Me: “No, thank you for your help.”

I was checking my postmeal BG’s and my bolus calculator still wasn’t set up. GRRRR! I had to tell myself to calm down. I had to reset all of my bolus setting’s on the PDM. I am glad I remembered my settings and VERY happy I had the manual or I would’ve been SOL and still on the phone with Katrina.

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

2 responses to “OmniPod PDM-Error

  • Alexandra

    Hi Cherise,

    My name is Alexandra and have also had this problem. After it fails it will take 2 hours to restet so be patient and it should be back in the morning!

  • Britt

    My 7 yr old son uses the Omnipod and has had two PDM Errors. The first was not so bad, we replace the pod and had to wait on the bolus calculator but all his setting were still there. Yesterday we had another PDM Error, this time I would have to say it CRASHED!. We lost all setting and all history, when it started back up it was like we had never used the PDM before. The first time they replaced the pod, this time I didn’t even call them.

Leave a comment