A message to the Diabetic Police….

policeDiabetic Police: Diabetic Police is a loved one or friend who cares about your diabetes, doesn’t know enough about diabetes to really tell you what’s good, what’s bad for you, what to do and what not to do. Diabetic police may have read a mag or 2 about diabetes but never lived 1 day as a diabetic or with someone who has diabetes.

If you are a diabetic you have came across someone who has looked at you crazy for eating a piece of candy, chocolate, cake, donut, cookies or whatever. Diabetic Police are almost as bad as living with the disease. They hound you, they tell you shouldn’t do something….the list goes on and on. I honestly, don’t mind when my Husband adds his 2 sense, he has to live with me, he is gaining a better understanding of diabetes and living with someone who has it. I am only bothered by strangers, friends, associates and distant family members that try to tell me what’s best for me. I am not saying I don’t appreciate it from time to time to time, but not with every bite. I can enjoy the same foods you (non-diabetic) can, I know my limit’s. I know what makes me high and what makes me low. I can eat a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup without my bg’s getting out of control. I test my bg’s 4-5 times a day. I know the consequences of eating certain foods. I know, what’s best for me. Now, I am letting you know….So please Diabetic Police leave me alone.

Be Blessed

Cherise

click here, info on police pic

About Cherise

Diabetes (Type 1.5/LADA) has been living with me for about 4 years. I am using the Omnipod insulin delivery system and I love it. I am not going to say I don't have a bad pod every once in a while because it does happen. I am a wife, mother and I work full time. Thank you for stopping by please feel free to browse and leave a comment! View all posts by Cherise

One response to “A message to the Diabetic Police….

Leave a comment